BlueIris software as a "client viewer"

Discussion in 'Blue Iris' started by djangel, Sep 2, 2017.

Share This Page

  1. djangel

    djangel Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    143
    Just want to share a quick tip to be able to use BlueIris software as a remote "client viewer" in your local network to view/export your recordings from your BlueIris server. Main reason for me to do this is because I like to see my clips at full recorded resolution using the flexibility BlueIris have when viewing and manipulating clips as well as the ability to be able to convert/export them using the built in BlueIris tools.

    - Do this at your own risk!
    You can run the risk of corrupting your database and/or recordings!

    -My setup-

    Main server
    1- BlueIris installed and configured at server room.
    2- BlueIris Clips and Archiving main folder shared (C:\BlueIris) share name= BI_clips
    - Assign proper share permissions based on your preferences.
    - Make sure you can access the share remotely (ie. \ServerIP\share).

    Remote computer
    1- Install BlueIris and do not run yet.
    2- Block BlueIris in this computer to access the internet (request are sent to blueirissoftware.com port 80).
    ---use any of these options, or all if you are really paranoid---
    a- Create a new software rule in the firewall to block BlueIris.exe program.
    b- Add blueirissoftware.com and ip address 64.20.60.68 to your host file to point to local loopback ip (127.0.0.1) or invalid ip (like 0.0.0.0).
    c- Create rule in your router to block blueirissoftware.com and 64.20.60.68 from your remote viewer computer.
    3- Start BlueIris.
    4- Enter license information. I'm using the same license from my main server, since I'm just using this as a "viewer".
    5- Stop BlueIris from going live.
    - Startup tab- Under Application check "Begin with a red traffic signal (recording and alerts paused)"
    6- Disable Web server and other settings not needed. (I don't want this to take any resources from my computer when not viewing clips.)
    - Web server and Other tabs. Browse other tabs and disable/change whatever you think is necessary.
    7- Create symbolic link to your BlueIris server share. (only way I found to be able to change the path under Clips and archiving tab)

    - Open Windows Command Prompt (As administrator)
    Command sample:
    mklink<space>/D<space>C:\LinkName<space>\NetworkLocation\LocationName

    I created my symbolic link folder (SYM_LINK_TO_BI_SERVER_CLIPS_DB) inside the default BlueIris clips folder C:\BlueIris and used a friendly name to remind me of what I have done :)

    mklink /D C:\BlueIris\SYM_LINK_TO_BI_SERVER_CLIPS_DB \BlueIrisServer\BI_Clips

    8- Double click the link folder to make sure it's working.
    - Should be able to see and access the remote folders
    9- Go to Clips and archiving tab and change the path for the database and folders.
    Database----
    C:\BlueIris\SYM_LINK_TO_BI_SERVER_CLIPS_DB\db
    Folders------
    New - C:\BlueIris\SYM_LINK_TO_BI_SERVER_CLIPS_DB\New
    Stored - C:\BlueIris\SYM_LINK_TO_BI_SERVER_CLIPS_DB\Stored
    Alerts- C:\BlueIris\SYM_LINK_TO_BI_SERVER_CLIPS_DB\Alerts
    10- Uncheck Compact/repair DB each day...
    11. Click OK and close BlueIris.
    12. Start BlueIris and viola!

    Notes:

    Be careful with the symbolic link folder. If you delete, you can potentially delete your main BlueIris database and clips folders! No bueno.

    Use the same software version of BlueIris on both systems to minimize issues.

    I can view and save clips without issues, but haven't deleted or made any changes to them from my "viewer" and I'm not planning to. I just want to be able to view my recordings at full quality and export any of them if necessary.

    Also, I don't know if this is a violation of the terms of use for my BlueIris license and to be honest I don't care. I'm not running a second server with it. It's just a "viewer".
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017
  2. chaycock

    chaycock Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    17
    >Create a new rule in the firewall to block BlueIris.exe to access the internet.

    I am not using the built-in Windows firewall, so I can't just block the exe. Do you know what url/port BI connects to so that I can block that at the actual firewall?
     
  3. djangel

    djangel Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    143
    Update checks and license verification are sent as a simple http request to blueirissoftware.com

    You can add it to your host file as:

    0.0.0.0 <space> blueirissoftware.com
    0.0.0.0 <space> 64.20.60.68

    Or create a firewall rule in your router to block traffic for the same address and port 80, but remember to just do it for the remote viewer computer IP address, or MAC, or both.

    Hope this helps.
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017
  4. chaycock

    chaycock Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    17
    Thanks, it does, I appreciate it.
     
  5. NoloC

    NoloC Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    366
    Really?

    You can buy a second license from Ken for $29.97 and not screw around with this.
    And feel good about supporting the developer.
     
    looney2ns likes this.
  6. djangel

    djangel Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    143
    Love when wannabe vigilantes show up with no clue of what they are talking about. What does buying another license has to do with this? #clueless
     
    CyberGuyPR likes this.
  7. NoloC

    NoloC Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    366
    I believe it accomplishes the same goal and adds redundancy, if you choose to record on the second system.
     
  8. chaycock

    chaycock Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    17
    Just a note to those that are concerned, I do actually have a second license I bought just for this purpose. My question about the firewall was purely educational. I bought a second license a while back hoping that Ken would build in Remote Viewer capability some day.
     
  9. djangel

    djangel Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    143
    First, your solution does not come close to accomplishing the same goal. What you are suggesting is running two separate BlueIris servers with the same settings, but record to each server independently? Why would anyone do that? For redundancy as you mentioned? There are better and more effective ways to do that. All you are trying to do is bash me because I didn't buy a second license to use my work around to support the developer? How is this not supporting the developer? I purchased my license like many of us do, but suggesting I need to buy another one so I can view my clips from my main computer instead of directly from the server is honestly ridiculous. I'm not running a different server at all. Just look at it as a work around of a missing feature, so until the developer adds the ability to do the same, this will have to do (at least for me and others that are not concerned with the BlueIris police).
     
    Tmos, abo and AndyH912 like this.
  10. NoloC

    NoloC Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    366
  11. Tizeye

    Tizeye Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Now if the second license or work around would only work on a Mac as that is the remote would be using. Really don't want to go the Parallels route partitioning the drive and installing Windows. It is not like an SSD has a lot of space to begin with.
     
  12. Ace789

    Ace789 n3wb

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this approach (having a second copy of BlueIris on a LAN acting as a viewer) work well over time?

    Or does it create issues?
     
  13. NoloC

    NoloC Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    366
    I haven't seen any issues as long as the cams are capable of two streams/connections.

    I had an old Swann that would not work well with the two systems running. Now that UI3 is out, there really is a great full featured client included with BI so this is less important.
    The only reason I could see to do this now would be a back up system.