BNC camera / NVR questions

Qlxpfive

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello - A friend, who manages local Boys and Girls Clubs, asked me for some help with cameras at one of their locations. I have zero experience with BNC camera (slightly less than I have with IP cams), but would like to try to help. Any assistance is greatly appreciated.
The site has 5 GE TV-BIR-SR bullet BNC cameras. They are apparently mounted very high and not very accessible for low/no cost replacement. Someone has wandered off with the DVR. They have access to the other end of the BNC cables, all in one place (obviously).
From what I can tell, BNC cameras are almost always inter-compatible, but I may be wrong. What would be a good / cheap / easy DVR to get them working with those existing cams?
Thank you!

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
You are right, just about any will work, but the biggest thing would be you have to match up a DVR with a resolution higher than the cameras. So if the cameras are 2MP and you get a 1MP DVR, it will not work.

A quick search shows they are a dismal 380 TVL resolution, so if that is the case, probably any will be sufficient.

But look as it might be cheaper to buy a kit and even if you don't use any or all of the new cams, it is probably cheaper. Back when I was BNC cameras and the DVR went out, it was always cheaper to buy a kit with cameras than just the DVR, so I would replace some of the easier to get to cams.

Teken

Known around here
Reaction score
Hello - A friend, who manages local Boys and Girls Clubs, asked me for some help with cameras at one of their locations. I have zero experience with BNC camera (slightly less than I have with IP cams), but would like to try to help. Any assistance is greatly appreciated.