Building Milestone Computer for HD Cameras

supie

n3wb
Reaction score
I am considering buying a Skylake based i7-6700 computer , based on the forums recommendations.

At my home I have Six 3MP POE Cameras on a gigabyte network and using Milestone XProtect Go.
Currently I am using a dedicated computer but when 4 cameras or more are being monitoring the CPU is on overloaded. I realize that I can change settings in Milestone to reduce CPU usage but it also reduces the picture quality and/or frame rate. I have built many computers and networks but I am a newbie in the CCTV arena and I have a few questions that I have not been able to find the answers elsewhere on the forum:

Considering I am using Milestone and will never expand beyond 8 cameras how would you recommend building the dedicated CCTV Server?

Computer:
Is there an advantage to buying the Dell 5040 Mid Tower vs. the 5040 Small Form Factor computer? Are there other model numbers or brands which would give the best bang for the buck? Or am I better off building the server from scratch? (Portatech or other recommendations?)

CPU Processor:
How important is it to get the i7 6700 vs. the i5 6500? I am looking at the following:
Intel Core i7-6700 quad-core processor - 3.4/4.0GHz = 11922 Speed Rating
Intel Core i5-6500 quad-core processor - 3.9GHz = 8615 Speed Rating
Does Milestone use the i7 6700 or i5 6500 CPU’s multiple cores and multiple graphics cores handle some of the intensive graphics load better than other processors ?

Intel Quick Sync:
Does Quick Sync work with Milestone and does it reduce the CPU load? Does this apply to both the i7 & i5 processors?

Ram Memory:
How much ram is really needed for the six cameras 8GB or 16GB? How important is it to get the Ram Memory Sticks running at 2400 MHz or 2133 MHz vs. 1600 MHz? Also is there any advantage to have DDR4 vs.DDR3L?

Operating System:
Is there any downside to running Windows 7 vs. Windows 10 or visa versa?

Power Supply: