Camera recommendations for these 2 spots please

nszasz

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

I’ve been lurking and learning from this forum for a while. Ordered and received a IPC-HFW1831C-PIR from Andy and it’s working really well - very happy! Now ready to order 2 more cameras, but I’d like to get some suggestions from people with experience.

Background: I’m not technical! I have an 8-year old house with CAT5e installed. I used a Logitech Alert system before. Now replacing with cameras from Andy. As I’m a Mac user I’m using SecuritySpy software - and that works really well too. Just need to select 2 more cameras.

Objectives: Live in a rural and safe place - just want to monitor for unannounced guests. The one camera I have installed already is the IPC-HFW1831C-PIR on a mailbox post at my driveway entrance. It’s perfect - wide view and can catch license plates fine. That is marked #1 on my photo titled “roof and mailbox”.

So looking for a recommendation for #2 (roof and mailbox photo) and #3 in a second photo (view to deck) - both taken from the 2 floor roof of my house with an iPhone. I guess the distance from the roof to the deck is about 50 or 60 meters.

These 2 cameras have come up as a suggestion for my #2 and #3 position cameras. Can someone please offer advice?

IPC-B5442E-Z4E
and
IPC-HFW5231E-Z12E

Thanks in advance!
Nick

Attachments

nszasz

n3wb
Reaction score
Thanks! Just put the lawns and those palm trees last week. Big project!
I've never used a PTZ model - do you have a specific model to recommend. I don't need to read license plates - but I want a clear/sharp made for the areas marked in the photos - and need not be the cheapest - want cameras I'll be happy with for several years. Thanks.

mat200

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Thanks! Just put the lawns and those palm trees last week. Big project!