Camera recordings are fuzzy/ghosting

Reaction score
Hi there,

I am new to blue iris and built my first system about a month ago.

I am having an issue with recordings being fuzzy and ghosting.

My system is an Intel i7 8700k, 16gb ram and I also have a 2gb external graphics card installed.

I have 6 x Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE cameras.

I have optimised the system according to this thread: Optimizing Blue Iris's CPU Usage | IP Cam Talk

I have manually set all the cameras to 15fps in their web interface and manually set the FPS to 20 in the blue iris camera settings. (I saw someone say this should be done?)

Anyway in most of my recordings they are black to start with and then the videos are pixelated and there is a lot of ghosting.

Could someone please help me use the right settings to rectify this? Thanks in advance.

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am new to blue iris and built my first system about a month ago.

I am having an issue with recordings being fuzzy and ghosting.

My system is an Intel i7 8700k, 16gb ram and I also have a 2gb external graphics card installed.

I have 6 x Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-ZE cameras.

I have optimised the system according to this thread: Optimizing Blue Iris's CPU Usage | IP Cam Talk

I have manually set all the cameras to 15fps in their web interface and manually set the FPS to 20 in the blue iris camera settings. (I saw someone say this should be done?)

Anyway in most of my recordings they are black to start with and then the videos are pixelated and there is a lot of ghosting.

Could someone please help me use the right settings to rectify this? Thanks in advance.
Are you using smart codec/h.265+?

Reaction score
Match the iframe interval to the fps...post a video of what you are seeing..
What version of blue iris are you using
Thanks fenderman, I have updated camera settings and will review some new recordings. Am using latest version of blue iris. If problem persists I will upload some video examples.

Terk