Can regular ethernet computes and devices be hooked up to POE switches?

Murphy625

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Going to buy a POE switch to mount in a NEMA enclosure box outside for my cameras. I already have an ethernet line running to my solar system's inverter and am wondering if the POE switch will damage the inverter because its just a regular ethernet device that does not need POE.

If this is a stupid question, and I suspect it is, please forgive me, I have zero experience with POE anything.

Broachoski

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
No problem at all. It automatically detects if the device needs POE and if not it works like a regular switch.

Murphy625

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Thanks! That clears a lot up.

Are the BV-Tech products good?

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I have 3 BV_tech switch about 2 years old , one has died. I have been replacing my switches with netgear GS108PP. All my switches are on UPSs.

Murphy625

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
I have 3 BV_tech switch about 2 years old , one has died. I have been replacing my switches with netgear GS108PP. All my switches are on UPSs.
What failed? When they go bad, do they still act like a normal switch or just completely die? Was it the power supply? Which model did you have?

Reaction score
I bought a BV-tech 16 port POE switch back around Sept. Worked great for the 12 cams I ran on it. Minus the vacuum sound :) But it did work as advertised. However, I recently upgraded to a 48 port Ubiquiti POE switch (by luck). Nice and quiet....

Murphy625

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Do these POE Switches have a utility inside them that allows viewing of how much power each channel is using?

So if hook up a camera and want to know how much juice its using, how would I find out that information? Most tech specs list the maximum and not the nominal or actual power being used.

tigerwillow1

Known around here
Reaction score