Complete novice here help please

badayuni92

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hi all I do hope you are safe and well. I am so glad I found this forum. I am after some help, I am a novice and have just installed a 4 ip camera set up at my house following a series of break ins.

The system I went for is 4 hilook ipc 259 cameras with a 4 channel nvr. Please can you help me with some basic configuration settings

I have decided to achieve the field of view I need to run the cameras at 2960 by 1920 which I believe is 2k at 15fps.

The bit rate is variable what should the max bit rate be set to please? I don't fully understand this side of things. I am using h265 encoding

Is 15fps good enough to capture smooth footage of people coming to my door? If i reduce the resolution and increase the fps I lose an important part of the fov.

When viewing the live view via the mobile app outside of my network eg on 4g it barely loads the main stream. The substream is instant. Is there anything I can do to improve the speed of loading the main stream? I have 100mbps download and 10mbps upload speed

Final question is how do you factory reset the cameras? Can this be done via the nvr? Or is there a re a reset button on the cameras I am using a 4k 4 channel hilook nvr

Any help would be greatly appreciated

SouthernYankee

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Run the camera at its standard resolution. Which I believe is 5MP. all reducing the main stream resolution is that you will loose detail. Reducing resolution is just math processing in the camera removing pixels and merging pixels. It is better to low the frame rate if you want to save data. Smooth viewing is not a priority, this is not a Hollywood movie, it is security surveillance. You want video that can be used by the police.