Complex access?

Reaction score
I have the full version of the PC software and tried to set it for access from other locations according to the information in the help files. I am not very tech savvy with all the settings involved and finally just gave up. I am wondering if the mobile app requires a lot of technical knowledge to be able to access my cameras remotely on my mobile devices or if it is pretty intuitive. I don't want to spend the money on the app if I won't be able to get it to work.

awahl101

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I have the full version of the PC software and tried to set it for access from other locations according to the information in the help files. I am not very tech savvy with all the settings involved and finally just gave up. I am wondering if the mobile app requires a lot of technical knowledge to be able to access my cameras remotely on my mobile devices or if it is pretty intuitive. I don't want to spend the money on the app if I won't be able to get it to work.
Some basic networking knowledge is needed. Make sure your system is set with a static ip. And you will need to port forward the port selected . Something other than 80 should be used.

You will allow this in your router, the other part is ddns which basically points to your wan ip and updates accordingly. If you have your router model i may be able to help further.

No-ip is a free ddns but needs to be confirmed every 30 days.

I can also do a teamviewer session free of charge if you need assistance

Sent from my SM-J727P using Tapatalk

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Port forwarding has security risks ....vpn is more complex but much more secure...
if you chose to port forward, you dont need to use a ddns service...blue iris has this function built in...when you add a new server in the app, you can enter the first and last 5 of your license key then hit GET IPS

Reaction score