Computer as NVR opinions

Velogopher

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the world of home security / IP cams. I just bought a DS-2CD2342WD-I and ordered a DS-2CD2345-I, which should be here in about a week or so, to compare features and performance for my area before deciding on the rest. I'm now trying to decide if I should use a computer or an NVR for the collection of the streams. I'm leaning toward the computer, because it seems like it's got a lot more flexibility, plus I like to be more in control of the software (IT/software engineer here). If I did, it would most likely be running Linux, not Windows.

What I have:
I currently have a home Linux server, and I am wondering if it would be sufficient for the task of reliably capturing and processing the video feeds and being able to alert, as appropriate. I have a Windows laptop for my general use (like writing this), but the home server acts as a file store and media server for now, and I intend to add in home automation. It's got an i7-6700k (4core/8thread @4.0GHz) processor with 64G RAM (I may have gone a little overboard there), 2xSSD for the OS, and 4x4T drives in RAID-5 for data storage, and 2xGigE. I have room to add 3 more drives on the system and in the case.

It spends most of its time with pretty low load, but there have been times when I've run HandBrake to re-encode 4 different video files at the same time, bringing the system load up to around 35. During those times, I have never felt the slightest sluggishness from with anything I'm doing in a terminal session, though it's clear that the HandBrake processes each take longer to run. There's also a high likelihood that I would occasionally be running some intense Matlab-like jobs. I have not tried them on this computer, so I have no idea how much they might bog down the system.

What I want to do: