CPU usage

TimK

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
36
Reaction score
4
I've been using BI for about 6 years and think it is a great tool. I have 16 cameras ranging from 960H to 5mp running on a dedicated windows machine. CPU hovers at 50-60%.. life is good. I just picked up an 8K reolink TrackMix to replace an old turret. The camera set up fine (did not test tracking yet) but it pegs my CPU to 98-100%. I've tried messing with bitrates and other obvious stuff to no avail...

any Ideas? would 1 8K camera bring a system to it's knees like this?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
11,522
Reaction score
27,605
Location
New Jersey
Update Blue Iris to version 5.6.x.x or greater and implement sub streams. Your CPU should drop to around 15%, or less, depending on the CPU in use. I run 22 cameras, 2MP, 4MP and 8MP, on a 12700K and BI CPU utilization is around 5%.

I'd also strongly suggest returning the Reolink for something more on the prosumer level than the consumer level. Reolink is actually compatible with Reolink according to their own advertising. They play far too many games with their firmware for their cameras to be truly reliable for anything other than casual daytime observation devices. A few quick guides for you -

Disclaimer - These sizes are what the manufacturers advertise and may, or may not, be the true size of the sensor in the camera.
1/3" = .333" Great for 720P
1/2.8" = .357" (think a .38 caliber bullet) Great for 2MP
1/1.8" = .555" (bigger than a .50 caliber bullet or ball) Great for 4MP
1/1.2" = .833" (bigger than a 20mm chain gun round) Great for 8MP


Compiled by wittaj
 

samplenhold

Known around here
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
5,717
Reaction score
18,775
Location
Spring, Texas
I've been using BI for about 6 years and think it is a great tool. I have 16 cameras ranging from 960H to 5mp running on a dedicated windows machine. CPU hovers at 50-60%.. life is good. I just picked up an 8K reolink TrackMix to replace an old turret. The camera set up fine (did not test tracking yet) but it pegs my CPU to 98-100%. I've tried messing with bitrates and other obvious stuff to no avail...

any Ideas? would 1 8K camera bring a system to it's knees like this?
Need more info: BI version you are on. What is the hardware?

I think you mean 8MP cam and not an 8K cam, right?

An 906H cam is about 460,800 pixels. Therefore, an 8MP cam is 17 times as many pixels. You were already running at 50-60%. This makes sense to me depending on your hardware, if it is 6 years old.
 

TimK

Young grasshopper
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
36
Reaction score
4
yes, 8MP.

I'm on the latest stable BI. Computer is getting old, i7-4790 @ 3.6GHz w/16GB ram.

I record most of the streams continuously.. only a few on movement.

adding up all the cameras is about 38 MP total. I would expect a 15%-20% increase but it's double that.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
11,522
Reaction score
27,605
Location
New Jersey
Hello. Knock, knock. Did you miss the sub stream comments?

Substream Guide
 

Flintstone61

Known around here
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
5,054
Reaction score
8,028
Location
Minnesota USA
i7-4790 is still a 4 core 8 thread machine,,,,should run your cams easily....Somewhere in Version 5 substreams showed up and also Intel Hardware acceleration could be turned off in some situations....
 
Last edited:

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
16,394
Reaction score
30,477
Location
USA
Yep I would say you are not using substreams. People here run 50 cameras on that computer at way less CPU...
 
Top