Dahua Enable Telnet

Discussion in 'Dahua' started by nayr, Aug 26, 2016.

Share This Page

  1. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,346
    Likes Received:
    5,246
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Far too easy:
    • Enable Telnet w/API Call (login with your admin account when prompted):
      Code:
      http://<ip-address>/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=setConfig&Telnet.Enable=true
    • Login: telnet <ip-address>
      • Username: admin
      • Password: 7ujMko0<YOURADMINPASSWORD>
        • example: admin password ipcamtalk then use the password: 7ujMko0ipcamtalk


    source: http://www.bahamassecurity.com/cctvforum/forum_posts.asp?TID=313

    ** NOTE ** This has to be performed at each boot; its not permanent.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
    Purduephotog, Mike, Groot and 2 others like this.
  2. fabads

    fabads Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Tried to do so and get an error:
    "Error
    ErrorID=0, Detail=Invalid Authority!"
     
  3. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,346
    Likes Received:
    5,246
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    what device? it's worked on mine
     
  4. fabads

    fabads Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    I tried to do so directly to my 4208-4K NVR ... But I'm maybe wrong ... Work only for cams?

    PS/ Nayr I see that you own both HFW4421D-AS 4MP and HFW4431M-AS-I2 4MP. I just created a thread to help me choosing between the two, if you have time to help...
     
  5. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,346
    Likes Received:
    5,246
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    works on my 4216-4k nvr
    Code:
    $# telnet 192.168.42.19
    Trying 192.168.42.19...
    Connected to 192.168.42.19.
    Escape character is '^]'.
    
    
    (none) login: admin
    Password: 
    
    ~ # cat /proc/cpuinfo 
    processor       : 0
    model name      : ARMv7 Processor rev 0 (v7l)
    BogoMIPS        : 2996.63
    Features        : swp half thumb fastmult vfp edsp neon vfpv3 tls 
    CPU implementer : 0x41
    CPU architecture: 7
    CPU variant     : 0x3
    CPU part        : 0xc09
    CPU revision    : 0
    
    
    processor       : 1
    model name      : ARMv7 Processor rev 0 (v7l)
    BogoMIPS        : 2989.26
    Features        : swp half thumb fastmult vfp edsp neon vfpv3 tls 
    CPU implementer : 0x41
    CPU architecture: 7
    CPU variant     : 0x3
    CPU part        : 0xc09
    CPU revision    : 0
    
    
    Hardware        : STi SoC with Flattened Device Tree
    Revision        : 0000
    Serial          : 0000000000000000
     
  6. fabads

    fabads Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok found my error.
    Thr first time you enable Telnet through web browser, a pop up window requests login and password. This first login is admin and the normal admin password.
    Then when using telnet, have to use 7ujMko0<Password>.
    Works great now! Thank you Nayr.
     
  7. Kawboy12R

    Kawboy12R Known around here

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,775
    Likes Received:
    609
    IIRC bahamassecurity.com is Rory's site. There's a guy with a lot of CCTV experience. Longtime analog fan.
     
    RyanODan likes this.
  8. randyth

    randyth Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you for this info.
    Just out of curiosity,...what would the advantages of telnet access be?
    I can think of:
    - more advanced upgrade functionality
    - more advanced recovery (eg in case of bad flashes)
    - easier scripting (eg bash scripts)

    That's all i can think of. Am i missing something?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 28, 2016
  9. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,346
    Likes Received:
    5,246
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    you can extract the firmware currently running, change/modify translation files, custom brand the UI, and run 3rd party binaries..

    If you bought an English camera that reverted to Chinese, this could be used to fix it back to English
     
    spoonek likes this.
  10. TVT73

    TVT73 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Germany
    Does i need to enable the telnet every reboot or does this be stored on the cam? I ask, because i need to firmware recover one HDW-4431 which stucks in reboot look after few seconds. Unfortunately does the reboot so fast happens, that i am not really able to connect to telnet. i can enter the username, then directly the connection is lost. But i thought telnet access is every time open.
    I tried it with a working one here, where i can only connect to telnet after your cgi login.
     
  11. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,346
    Likes Received:
    5,246
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    if you have one trouble booting your likely going to need to hook into the console port on the main circuit board and watch it boot.
     
  12. TVT73

    TVT73 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    104
    Location:
    Germany
    you mean tftp recovery over serial connection? I hoped to be able to stop the upgrade over telnet like explained here:

    http://www.cctvforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=44928

     
  13. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,346
    Likes Received:
    5,246
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    just console access over serial, you get the same thing as telnet provides.. but you can connect before the camera is fully booted and see what its failing on.

    if its stuck in a reboot loop and you want to use telnet might have to write a script to login and execute the commands you want in the short window before it reboots again.
     
  14. Russell Shoemaker

    Russell Shoemaker n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I used newest firmware of IPC, and this command don't open the telnet port.
    Code:
    http://<ip-address>/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=setConfig&Telnet.Enable=true 
    The result is OK, but I can not connect to Telnet.
    The information is completely removed from the telnet port of Dahua.
    You know something about this? Can you solve this problem?

    Firmware:
    Code:
    Software Version2.460.0000.1.R, Build Date: 2016-10-25
    WEB Version3.2.1.388722
    ONVIF Version2.42
    
     
  15. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,346
    Likes Received:
    5,246
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    works perfectly on my HDW5231R-Z with the same version
    Code:
    2.460.0000.1.R, Build Date: 2016-10-25
    Code:
    $ telnet 192.168.42.28
    Trying 192.168.42.28...
    Connected to 192.168.42.28.
    Escape character is '^]'.
    none login: admin
    Password: 
    
    
    BusyBox v1.18.4 (2016-08-29 14:49:41 CST) built-in shell (ash)
    Revision: 18787
    Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.
    
    ~ # 
     
    Russell Shoemaker likes this.
  16. Kritpal

    Kritpal n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,
    I recently purchased Dahua DVR.
    I want to do telnet on DVR
    using this link i am able to enable telnet {http://10.10.1.xx/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=setConfig&Telnet.Enable=true}
    i tried all combinations of passwords like admin/7ujMko0admin {my username password is lets say admin/admin}
    Can any one help to do telnet.
    Device Info:
    Device Model: DH-HCVR4104C-S2
    Record Channel: 4
    Alarm In: 0
    Alarm Out: 0
    SN: 2F03C69PAGZ24P2
    System Version: 3.200.0024.0, Build Date: 2016-05-06
     
  17. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,346
    Likes Received:
    5,246
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    try username: root
     
  18. Kritpal

    Kritpal n3wb

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried root/vixzv as well.No luck.
     
  19. SyconsciousAu

    SyconsciousAu Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    177
    I get the same result. load it into the web browser, get OK, try to connect with putty and I get "connection refused"

    Device Type IPC-HDBW4431R-ZS
    Software Version 2.420.0000.21.R, Build Date: 2016-07-24
    WEB Version 3.2.1.364036
    ONVIF Version 2.42

    Issue affecting Chinese camera's?
     
  20. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,346
    Likes Received:
    5,246
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    telnet is being removed across the board after the botnets