Dahua gDMSS Plus and OpenVPN

Mike77.

n3wb
Reaction score
I am new to the networking/cyber security and I've exhausted my google searches. I have 4 Dahua cameras installed at my house and when I installed them, I did not set up any network security. They are connected to a POE switch on my LAN, which connects directly to my router. I have been viewing the cameras remotely on my cell phone using the Dahua gDMSS Plus app.

I recently wanted to add some security to prevent the cameras from being hacked, so I decided to turn on OpenVPN on my TP-Link AC1750 router. I got OpenVPN set up and I thought I would be able to still use the Dahua gDMSS Plus app to access my cameras. It turns out that I can still access the cameras through the gDMSS app even when I don't have the OpenVPN turned on on my phone (I can access the cameras when not using the VLAN). Is this app able to bypass the VLAN? Will I have to delete the app and login directly to each camera if I want to use a VLAN to secure my cameras?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Mike

Mike A.

Known around here
Reaction score
Turning on the VPN doesn't automatically turn off anything else that you may have set up. If you have P2P set up and whatever ports open, that all remains and the gDMSS app can still use those.

To stop that you'd turn off P2P in the camera(s) and turn off P2P on your router. Also check and shut down whatever port forwarding may be set up (assuming that you don't have some specific reason for intentionally opening any). Then you'd connect to your network using OpenVPN and use whatever application to access your cams as you would as a client on your local network. I don't know gDMSS to know whether it also supports that or not.

catcamstar

Known around here
Reaction score