Does the Amcrest AD410 take 24V DC?

victorhooi

n3wb
Joined
Nov 26, 2019
Messages
19
Reaction score
5
Location
Australia
Hi,

According to the official Amcrest AD410 specsheet (linked from here) , the Amcrest AD410 can take as power input:

AC16V~AC24V, DC12V~DC24V
However, on the unit I received, there's a big orange sticker over the terminals that says:

Only connect terminals to wiring from doorbell with a voltage of 16 VAC-24 VAC.
Can anybody confirm if the AD410 will actually accept 24V DC, for example, and be OK with this?

(This is useful, because there are PoE adapters, like the Mikrotik RBGPOE-CON-HP that will output 24V DC.)
 

GaryOkie

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jul 28, 2017
Messages
142
Reaction score
79
Location
Route 66, OK
Billyjack - 24V DC? That's the key bit you omitted.

Victor, I can't say why the orange sticker conflicts with the tech specs saying 12-24V AC OR DC is supported. I did check the Dahua DH-DB6I specs and it says the same thing.

Power Supply :
12 VDC to 24 VDC or 16 VAC to 24 VAC,
0.8 A USB (5 VDC±5%, 2 A)²

I've read in the Amcrest forum where some have successfully powered the AD410 with 5V DC 2.4A via its microUSB. port But see that tiny "2"? The Dahua footnote says:

2. Do not supply power to the DH-DB6I via the USB port. Use only the Power Input Ports, as detailed in the Quick Installation Guide, to supply power to the device.

Hmm, I've never seen that warning for the AD410, but they are essentially identical hardware.

If I wanted to use POE, I'd go with the more common 5VDC USB adapter after confirming with others on the forum or with Amcrest Support. Here's more info on the Amcrest forum you should review...

Regarding 24VDC:

Regarding 5VDC USB:
 

Billyjack5

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Feb 16, 2020
Messages
145
Reaction score
47
Location
22031
Billyjack - 24V DC? That's the key bit you omitted.

Victor, I can't say why the orange sticker conflicts with the tech specs saying 12-24V AC OR DC is supported. I did check the Dahua DH-DB6I specs and it says the same thing.

Power Supply :
12 VDC to 24 VDC or 16 VAC to 24 VAC,
0.8 A USB (5 VDC±5%, 2 A)²

I've read in the Amcrest forum where some have successfully powered the AD410 with 5V DC 2.4A via its microUSB. port But see that tiny "2"? The Dahua footnote says:

2. Do not supply power to the DH-DB6I via the USB port. Use only the Power Input Ports, as detailed in the Quick Installation Guide, to supply power to the device.

Hmm, I've never seen that warning for the AD410, but they are essentially identical hardware.

If I wanted to use POE, I'd go with the more common 5VDC USB adapter after confirming with others on the forum or with Amcrest Support. Here's more info on the Amcrest forum you should review...

Regarding 24VDC:

Regarding 5VDC USB:
Apologies. I meant to communicate that my AD410 is hardwired to a 24V AC transformer.
 

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
9,413
Reaction score
17,395
Location
Alabama
Generally, if a device is rated for a 24VAC input AND it uses a full-wave bridge rectifier in its circuitry for its internal operating voltage then it can also work with a 24VDC input and the polarity of the DC input is not an issue.
 

Wombat

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Aug 5, 2018
Messages
49
Reaction score
40
Location
AU
I am interested in this unit and DC operation. Amcrest support confirm the operation of the unit by DC. “12v DC - 24v DC is suitable for AD410”

IMHO re the AC sticker over the rear pins is that maybe most people use AC and its most likely a reminder that the unit needs at least 16VAC but no more than 24VAC
 

Yippy

n3wb
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
2
Location
United Kingdom
Currently looking for a Din Rail transformer that would meet the AD410 power requirement of 30VA in 230V Input voltage.

So far I've found a slightly powerful 24V AC 30VA:
vemer TMC 30/24 VN319000

Is there a transformer that is 16V AC 30VA?
 
Last edited:

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Jul 15, 2014
Messages
9,413
Reaction score
17,395
Location
Alabama
Would a 24VDc poe injector 7w, 0.3A do the job?
As long as it's a passive injector and not 802.3af/at compliant, it likely would. That's because the input to the doorbell is not 802.3af/at compliant and so it would not negotiate with an active, 802.3af/at PSE to get it to turn on and supply voltage.

To clarify, what is the input to the "injector" you mentioned, 120/240VAC ("Mains" voltage) or a 802.3af/at compliant POE switch or injector? I ask because the terms "injector" and "splitter" are oftentimes misused.
 
Last edited:
Top