Dual uplinks

GCoco

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jun 29, 2015
Messages
340
Reaction score
116
Location
Louisiana
Trying to figure out why the newer Ethernet switches have dual uplink ports. What is the purpose/application?
 

GCoco

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jun 29, 2015
Messages
340
Reaction score
116
Location
Louisiana
Why 2 uplinks? I daisy chain my switches now. Single uplink to a regular port of the upline switch.
 

mikeynags

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
530
Reaction score
333
Location
CT
Depending on the switch, you can aggregate the 2 and double your uplink speed
 

GCoco

Pulling my weight
Joined
Jun 29, 2015
Messages
340
Reaction score
116
Location
Louisiana
Doesn’t that cause a loop and crash the network due to the traffic?
 

mikeynags

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
530
Reaction score
333
Location
CT
Doesn’t that cause a loop and crash the network due to the traffic?
No, the switch of course, would need to support link aggregation. The two ports act as one in theory for H/A or throughput.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

achalmersman

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Jan 26, 2017
Messages
217
Reaction score
61
Location
Delaware USA
Link aggregation doesn't actually double the speed of single sessions. It may double the total bandwidth capacity for multi connections but not the actual speed.

For example 2x 1gb links has a total bandwidth capacity of 2gb/s but the speed of a single connection will still only be 1gb/s

Think of it as making a water pipe bigger. You are increasing the size of the pipe and more water can flow through it at the same time, but the speed of the water is the same.

Fault tolerance is another added benefit.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
 
Top