Fresh Install of Win 10 Pro, what about drivers?

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
9,025
Reaction score
7,809
Location
Evansville, In. USA
Mainly talking about a Blue Iris machine.

1-Do you stick with all the drivers that Windows installs, with the exception of the Video Driver?

2-Do you install all Intel drivers that apply to your machine, chip drivers, etc?

3-Do Something else?
Thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2019
Messages
723
Reaction score
776
Location
New Jersey
I stuck with the "stock" Win10 driver suite but did install the Intel update manager just to keep an eye on things. I also check, every now and then, for board specific update and BIOS updates. Samsung just published an update for their M2 drives that I installed with no problems.
 

wittaj

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
334
Reaction score
156
Location
USA
For a system created with media creation tool and up and running and you think somehow a bug or error made it's way into the system, has anyone tried the Upgrade option with any success and if so did that leave your BI program and others like the dahua day/night script and NTP intact?

I realize it is better to probably reformat and do a fresh install, but then that requires setting up the dual NIC and the day/night script and NTP, etc. I know that isn't a big deal, but if it can be avoided it would be nice.

The issue that popped up in my system is the Intel driver isn't the latest - somehow it rolled back, I think a Windows update may have done it (and yes I do not have mine on auto update but I did allow one in). I am not having any issues, but I want to run on a known stable one.

I try the manual way to install by clicking the have disk option and selecting the igdlh64.inf file and it shows updating but when I look at the details it doesn't take the most recent, so I reboot in case that was issue, but it still won't take.

1590252134227.png
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
9,025
Reaction score
7,809
Location
Evansville, In. USA
For a system created with media creation tool and up and running and you think somehow a bug or error made it's way into the system, has anyone tried the Upgrade option with any success and if so did that leave your BI program and others like the dahua day/night script and NTP intact?

I realize it is better to probably reformat and do a fresh install, but then that requires setting up the dual NIC and the day/night script and NTP, etc. I know that isn't a big deal, but if it can be avoided it would be nice.

The issue that popped up in my system is the Intel driver isn't the latest - somehow it rolled back, I think a Windows update may have done it (and yes I do not have mine on auto update but I did allow one in). I am not having any issues, but I want to run on a known stable one.

I try the manual way to install by clicking the have disk option and selecting the igdlh64.inf file and it shows updating but when I look at the details it doesn't take the most recent, so I reboot in case that was issue, but it still won't take.

View attachment 62283
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
573
Location
United Kingdom
Windows update regressing a driver is pretty strange, can’t you just install the version that you want?
 

wittaj

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
334
Reaction score
156
Location
USA
I am shocked too - it reverted back to a driver with a date from 2017. I can do the "rollback" feature to get to one from earlier this year, but there is a more recent one in March that I had installed and I cannot get it to reinstall.

I am trying the manual method to get to the most current one using the "Have disk" option and selecting the "igdlh64.inf" file and it goes through the motion of showing it updating, but it doesn't and stays on the prior version.

Any other manual methods available to try? That is where I was wondering if the "upgrade" option of media creation tool would fix it or not?
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
573
Location
United Kingdom
Can’t you download it from the intel site, should then be able to get an exe to do the install.

In order for the inf to work you’d have to run it as admin and have all the required files in either the same folder or the same folder structure that it expects.
 

wittaj

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
334
Reaction score
156
Location
USA
I had been trying the manual way by pulling the .zip file from Intel site and trying the manual have disk and selecting the "igdlh64.inf" file and it shows that is accepted it, yet the driver version still shows the previous.

I just tried the intel site .exe - it shows everything downloading and setting up and says it took it, yet it doesn't take.

I was running 15.40.45.5126 (most recent Intel Driver on the Intel site) and with a recent Windows update it went to 20.19.15.5126. The intel site shows 15.40.45.5126 being the most recent driver.

When I look up this 20.x driver, it appears that others have had this issue after a clean Windows install as well. My computer is an HP so for kicks I looked to see if it was somehow pulling the driver from that site and there are no graphics drivers on their site that start with 20.x. It appears to be a Windows driver from what I have been reading. Some sites are speculating Windows thinks the 20.x is a more recent version than the 15.x.

I wonder if the .5126 is the most important part?

System is stable and running like it has been, so I guess I should leave well enough alone?
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
573
Location
United Kingdom
It won’t update if when checking the files it sees something which it classifies as newer.

If you want to really install that version, open up device manager, locate the video driver and uninstall it, when prompted tick the option to remove the files from the hard disk. Then restart and then give the Intel exe a try.
 

wittaj

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
334
Reaction score
156
Location
USA
I saw that option but was afraid uninstalling it would then render no image? I guess that isn't the case?
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
573
Location
United Kingdom
After the restart, assuming you ticked the option to remove the files it should revert to the Microsoft generic video drivers.
 

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Joined
Jan 13, 2019
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
573
Location
United Kingdom
I’ve checked against the windows catalog and 20.x is regarded my Microsoft as being the latest.

For my CPU i5-6500 the latest on the Intel website is 27.20.100.8190.

I suppose the real question is there a reason for wanting to go to one version over another? Do you get issues with one which is resolved by the other?
 

wittaj

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
334
Reaction score
156
Location
USA
No I have not had any issues (yet anyway), but I was trying to figure out why it changed to a graphics driver that isn't on the intel website and was more concerned about a bug as I thought a clean install would prevent these things from happening.

In any case, I did as @looney2ns suggested and now have that update turned off.
 

mikeynags

Getting comfortable
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
530
Reaction score
333
Location
CT
@looney2ns I do a hybrid of 1 and 2. I'll do the manufacturer driver for things like the ethernet card and the sound card. For the video card I typically stick with the Intel driver that comes with Windows and run thru the process to lock it down so that it is not available for Windows Update to update/change.
 

eeeeesh

BIT Beta Team
Joined
Jan 5, 2017
Messages
171
Reaction score
123
I pull the latest drivers during a fresh install and prefer not to have a live internet connection. I usually look up the motherboard drivers beforehand, download and have them ready. One thing nice about some systems, like the Intel NUC or my latest store bought computer from MSI - is they have a utility you can run that will find all the related drivers and let you know what needs to be updated

This is the usual format I use and in this order. This was for an ASUS system
TRI-425.jpg
 

wittaj

Pulling my weight
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
334
Reaction score
156
Location
USA
Ok, so is this an issue with a graphics driver or not - several of my cameras have been running h.265.

After this driver update, now when I go into the GUI the live screen says no signal. I can still view the changes in BI, but it is nice to see the live view in the GUI when you are attempting changes. I can bump it down to h.264 and see the live video.
 
Top