Having problem getting the time to sync.

Discussion in 'NVR's, DVR's & Computers' started by JimandYen, Dec 12, 2016.

Share This Page

  1. JimandYen

    JimandYen Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    DFW
    My problem is all the cameras have a different time (within 15 seconds)
    NVR is Dahua 5416 with 10 Dahua cameras.
    I can't seem to get all the times to be the same. I've gone into the menu (Setting-System-General-Date&Time) and tried everything. Any suggestions ...?
    I got the time to sync a couple weeks ago. Kind of forgot exactly how I did it but I turned off recording and shut everything off for a few minutes and then rebooted....
     
  2. Hotelone

    Hotelone Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Central Sierra Mountains, CA USA
    I set a static IP address for my Mac and sync my Hikvision NVR to it's NTP Port, 123 to sync every eight minutes and it works. System/System Settings/Time Settings. I had tried earlier to use time.windows.com and time.apple.com, with NTP port 123 but neither seemed to work for some reason.
     
  3. JimandYen

    JimandYen Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    DFW
    Thanks for the idea Hotelone. Mine is set with time.windows.com but doesn't always sync. I have mine connected directly to a router. In fact I just rebooted a couple hours ago and it synced for some reason. Hmmm.

    I just noticed another setting that I really never had to mess with. It's the "IPC Time Sync" You can set it at hour intervals. We'll see how that works.
    I had the "time.windows.com" set to update every hour. Maybe that interfered with this setting...?
     
  4. Hotelone

    Hotelone Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Central Sierra Mountains, CA USA
    My NVR is connected to a router too. If you set a fixed IP for your PC and then point the NVR to the PC's IP and NTP port it'll find it. The cams get their time from the NVR, leave their time settings blank.
     
  5. Keyboard

    Keyboard Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Owings Mills, MD
    I use pool.ntp.org with NTP port 123 every 60 minutes. I've never had a problem with the cameras nor NVR keeping the time in sync.
     
    Hotelone likes this.
  6. Bryan

    Bryan Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    27
    I kept having problems with the time resetting to morning a.m. every time I went to live view. Was testing camera hooked directly to router, accessed thru laptop. Even though I saved time input (sync with PC). Have not solved it yet.
     
  7. c hris527

    c hris527 Known around here

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    NY
    I have had issues with time on the Dahua NVR's,(4k only) Try the IPC every hour and disable all others. That has helped a lot until your NVR resets or looses power, seems I have to reset that feature when that happens. Might be a firmware bug, I also disable DST because that likes to change by itself too when its not suppose to. Just make sure all your cameras time zones are set the same. Seems they stay good for a few week or months then I will check them and they will be off again. Keep a good eye on it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
  8. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,350
    Likes Received:
    5,202
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I disabled ipc time sync on the NVR (System -> General) and since I dont have built in PoE on the NVR all the cameras NTP from a host on the same network every 1min.

    upstream I use my own stratum 1 ntpd w/a gps receiver, and utcnist.colorado.edu as a secondary (<10ms)

    all my wall/alarm clocks are sync'd over HF radio here out of boulder.. am I a time junkie?
     
    Arjun likes this.
  9. c hris527

    c hris527 Known around here

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    NY
    You are for sure. I wish I had your energy, I use to when I was younger, Now that I'm older Me thinks I'm a sleep junkie now.
     
  10. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,350
    Likes Received:
    5,202
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    oh I also hijack time.windows.com and time.apple.com DNS queries and redirect em to my local ntp server so most everything uses my time server automatically..

    mebe I should make a support group; I am disappointed that I have to set the clocks in my vehicles.. if there's anything good about self driving cars is they should be able to set there own clocks right!?

    Hello my name is Ryan and I have a problem..
     
    Arjun and DavidDavid like this.
  11. tangent

    tangent IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,264
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    nayr likes this.
  12. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,350
    Likes Received:
    5,202
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    aw figures, Boulder is just the atomic timesource.. I made a Rookie mistake; shakes head in shame.

    as a teenager I worked as a network admin for an office of daytraders; made me very time sensitive.. but I made good money moonlighting in the network closets of banks so it was worth the OCD it scarred me with.. they did have the best internet connections I could get my hands on at the time.
     
  13. tangent

    tangent IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2016
    Messages:
    3,264
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    My time pet peeve is radio controlled clocks that can't remember their time zone setting, which seems to be most of digital ones. Surely there's a lousy nibble of eeprom / flash on board that could store the time zone.
     
  14. Inigo

    Inigo Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    13
    I am under the impression that your NVR is behind a firewall and the only way to access it is through a VPN. Did you add a firewall rule to open Port 123 to and from the NVR IP to get time sync from utcnist.colorado.edu?
     
  15. nayr

    nayr IPCT Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9,350
    Likes Received:
    5,202
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    no, all the cameras and NVR timesync from a local Time Server on same subnet/network, never hits the router.. that server does have access to upstream NTP Servers.
     
  16. Shockwave199

    Shockwave199 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    New York
    This is oddly, 'timely'. I have an eyesurv dahua nvr in at a daycare and for some reason only one channel gets out of sync. The camera shows right date and time on screen but scrubbing playback is off. I've tried Rebooting, disable /re-enable ntp windows.time, everything. Playback scrub went outa whack and the only thing I see that happened within the last 12 hours in logs is system time sync. It did it two separate occasions at weird, 4 intervals a piece. I kinda suspect a corrupted hard drive because the camera seems fine but playback scrub sync is wrong. I also notice a lot of dropouts in the green scrub line too. Has me perplexed.
     
  17. hmjgriffon

    hmjgriffon Known around here

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    3,381
    Likes Received:
    970
    Location:
    North Florida
    Damn, why didn't I think to point time.windows.com to my firewall for ntp, gonna do that in a minute haha. but then, I only have one winders box and it uses the firewall, I should redirect whatever ubuntu uses to my firewall haha.
     
  18. c hris527

    c hris527 Known around here

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    465
    Location:
    NY
    Welcome to the dahua Time bug. I have spent WAY too many hours on this issue with the problems you are having. I have systems that are enclosed and open so no getting out to any time servers, and when I did things still did not go well.

    This is a work around but it works.
    Set Your NVR time settings to the default, Set your time, uncheck DST and NTP and do the same for all your IP cameras. By default the time zone in my case is not correct but duzzent matter. It seems if I change the time zone it will cause issues. Now your cams will sync the NVR for time.
    I have been running like this for 4 months with zero issues. I will here be making the assumption you are using a External POE switch. If you have a NVR with built in POE the cams will sync the NVR too. I have talked with two Authorized Dahua resellers about this issue and they are WELL aware of the issue. As NAYR said, there is no DST in CHINA and the firmware was modified and very poorly for the USA markets. Its buggy as shit. If you employ this method, just remember to set your times manually for dst and it done. It may not be the best method but it works. If you want to prove it, log into your NVR, then log into a camera in a separate window. Change the time on the NVR and within a second or two your camera time should change. Now you should have no more grayed out timelines in playback.
    time.JPG
     
    Arjun likes this.
  19. cryptelli

    cryptelli Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I went ahead and setup an NTP server for my NVR and made sure all cameras weren't syncing to anything but the NVR. If I understand your comment you are saying it's best to manually set the time in the NVR, configure DST settings and call it a day?

    Don't know why but some of my channels seem to lag a second or two behind others...
     
    Arjun likes this.
  20. Shockwave199

    Shockwave199 Pulling my weight

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    New York
    I have a poe nvr. So what you suggest is to let the cameras do the talking and the nvr will sync to them. Thanks for that suggestion but since the other three cameras are perfect, I don't believe the nvr is the problem. Even the problem camera shows the proper time on screen, but playback has become the issue with it being impossible to get proper cursor sync. It's been fine for four years and suddenly over the past few months this one channel has been a problem. Even swapping out to a new but same type of camera didn't help for long. The mini dome once again fogs up inside the dome and now takes more time than it should to display the channel remotely and playback scrub is whacked. I suspected a corrupt hard drive (1 of 2 installed) but now I'm suspecting maybe the poe has weakened. It's the longest run, being 125' or so. Not super long but maybe if I installed a poe extender by the camera it would provide some boost to the power. I don't know, just odd it's only this one channel. Thanks for your suggestion or any further thoughts, I'm outa bullets how to fix it.