Hello from a new user in Aus

Fred2016

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi, I'm brand new to this whole thing but after having a few trespassers and I few questionable neighbours as well we have (sadly) decided to install some CCTV.
Hence the internet has landed me here and I have started piecing my system together based from what I have learned here.
I get the feeling most people here have an IT background ( i definitely don't) which has me questioning my ability to succeed but I'm going to give it a go anyway.
I have only purchased one camera (IPC-T5442T-ZE) to start with but hope to get a minimum of 5 once i know what im doing.
I have read so much on this site and it really is very informative.
I have ordered a second hand dell optiplex and will get a large hdd and a second network adapter for it when it arrives.
I'm just struggling to find info on what i need for a switch, I was thinking an 8 channel but the cheaper ones seem to only have around 60w, will this be enough power if
i end up with 6 or 7 cameras or do i need a higher power one? if someone can recommend one to me that would be great.
I have tried to learn about managed vs unmanaged but rightly or wrongly, have settled on the fact that if i get an unmanaged one its less for me to have to worry about for now.
Also am i correct in thinking that once i have blue iris setup on the system, i wont need a monitor with it and it can be hidden away and i can just login remotely to access it?
Im not too worried about all this AI stuff i just want to get a notification if a person or motion is detected and be able to check what it was on my phone.

Thanks in advance

Gimmons

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
Hi Fred, welcome. Sorry you're obliged to do the cameras, but you've done well to start with research and not just throwing money at a box-o-cameras from the local warehouse store.

Don't be put off by the networking. You'll pick it up as you go, as most of us have. Just keep repeating 192.168.x.x...