Hello from down under Australia

natharas

n3wb
Reaction score
I've only just found this site and can't believe I hadn't found it earlier.

I'm looking to put some cameras out the front of my house, only need 3 cameras, been looking at HIKVision and Dahua, as I'm new to the whole security cameras and what type to get here I am, the plan is as follows:

Cam 1 to cover the front driveway / yard, Cam 2 will be to cover the front door and the third camera will be down the side of the house above the gate.
NVR, I'm looking to spin something up on my server which is Proxmox with TrueNAS on it then Blue Iris on a VM.

Looking to connect all the cameras via POE, with that comes the requirement for a POE Switch, looking at a 16 port POE Switch and open to recommendations, I will also be putting the cameras behind a VLAN with no access to the internet.

With regards to the cameras it has been recommended to go varifocal and turrets, would this one suffice for down the side of the house, I'd then be looking at something similar to cover the front door (5 or 6MP) and from the garage covering the driveway and the front yard - https://www.securitywholesalers.com.au/product/dahua-dh-ipc-hdw2431emp-as-0280b-s2-4mp-starlight-ip-turret/

I'm after any advice as it is all fairly new to me and can be quite overwhelming with so many different cameras on the market.

Thank you in advance!

sebastiantombs

Known around here
Reaction score
:welcome:

The first thing is don't chase megapixels. In the chart below note that there are no three or five megapixel cameras listed. That is because there is no sensor that performs well under low light conditions in a three or five megapixel camera.