Hello from Florida

ATLBuckeye

n3wb
Reaction score
Hey Y'all,

New user here from North Florida! I am an electrical engineer by trade and a home networking amateur by night. Up until this prior weekend, I had only employed a single Ring brand floodlight camera, which has worked well for me for about 4 years or so. Around that time, I attempted to install a Ring doorbell camera but fiddled with it for about a month before deciding I hated the way it detected, alerted, its WiFi reception, etc.

For a while, I had been wanting to move away from Ring. From the poor resolution, cloud storage, and the monthly subscription, I just didn't like it. What triggered my sudden uptick in IP cam interest was actually unrelated. My WiFi router was dying and giving poor coverage for areas of my home. A complaining wife who can't get her TikTok videos in bed was a pretty good excuse for buying networking hardware. My IT guy at work recommended that I look into some UniFi Access Points for WiFi and let my AT&T router handle the routing instead of buying a router. The WiFi AP's are PoE, and after taking about 1 hour to wire and set up 2 APs that cover my whole house perfectly, I was thoroughly impressed with UniFi to the extent that I wanted to look at what else they do. The UniFi cams caught my eye, and I started diving into PoE cameras. I then realized my existing NAS (TrueNAS) could function as an NVR. Then I realized that I could set up a VM on my NAS to run Blue Iris. Then I realized I could re-purpose my GTX 1080 GPU to utilize OpenProject AI on my NAS to do motion detection, LPR, and facial recognition. At this point, it wasn't a question of if I needed cameras or not... It was that I have the framework already in place to do it all, and do it well, so that means that I basically have to, right?