Help/Advice

paulku

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi,
I am in Australia and been following this great forum for the last few weeks. I am not a techie(has basic knowledge of computers), but a DIYer, who likes to try things myself. Was thinking of getting a surveillance system for our new house. Am fine with laying Cat 6 cables; but am struggling to make a decision re the Camera and NVR(decided to go for NVR rather than computer/Blue Iris).

Finally thought this might be an OK system
for camera - eight of these 2CD2335-I - http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/Multi-language-Full-HD-V5-3-3-1080P-CCTV-Camera-DS-2CD2335-I-With-30m-IR/319147_32464044170.html

(query - should I go for 4mm for all of them or a mixture of 6mm and 4mm; or should I go for a different camera? (two of the cameras are looking at 6 x 6metre area) and another one is onto main living room 8 x 6 metre)

Next question is re purchase- Was considering the ali-express Xinray site- is that OK?
Re NVR they have advertised two NVRs - http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/DS-7608N-E2-8P-Network-NVR-with-8CH-8POE-HD-5MP-for-IP-Camera-Network-Video/319147_32649156980.html
and this one - http://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/bVLxutqY
both are same model; but one is an Original Overseas model.

Query - is this NVR compatible with the above mentioned camera?
- Is there any point in going for the expensive Original Overseas NVR model, if there is no point in upgrading the firmware in future that in so doing, I may brick the Chinese patched HiK cameras? Or is there an advantage in buying that Original Overseas NVR model.

I am sorry in troubling you all; but if someone could help me, that would be very helpful and great.
Thanks in advance.
Paul

Optik

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi,
I am in Australia

Query - is this NVR compatible with the above mentioned camera?