Help for a newbie

troedel

n3wb
Reaction score
So i am very new to this world so please bear with a newbie. I have done as much of my own research as possible but am still struggling. I want a relatively simple setup for my home, just enough to be able to see around the house and identify faces from 10-15 feet away.

I installed a Lorex analog system which I still have setup now. I am fairly happy with it with the major exception that faces from 10 feet away are very blurry. After doing more research i seemed to realize that IP cameras were the way to go.

So after a lot of research and debate I figured I would try a hikvision. I ordered a hikvision turret camera, 4MP, model # DS-2CD2342WD-I. I have it connected to a hikvision nvr DS-7608NI-E2/8P 8CH PoE. Both places I ordered from amazon assured it was a proper english version. Anyway, so I setup it up and have to say i was expecting much more for the resolution. The image at times is pixelated during movement, which I could live with. But faces from 10 ft away when zoomed in are fairly blurry. I was expecting a crystal clear image. Were my expectations too high? or is perhaps somethign wrong with my setup/hardware? My camera settings are below:

resolution: 2688x1520
bitrate type : constant
frame rate: 20
max bitrate: 16384
H.264+: Off

I would love to attach an image for you guys to check out, but I dont know how to "capture" it from the NVR and send it to myself. I can do an image capture on the hikvision internet explorer admin tool, but I am not sure if its capturing the full resolution or simply whats displayed on my laptop (the image that does get captured is quite poor)

Sorry for the rambeling, but after my 3rd try at a system I am starting to lose hope, hoping someone can help me. Thanks in advance.

essjay

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I have a 6mm from about 12ft from my door and even that's too wide. I'd need a 12mm in there.

Del Boy

Getting comfortable
Reaction score