Help with new Hikvision 7600 Set-up

Reaction score
I just purchased a Hikvision 7600 NI 8 channel NVR. I also purchased 4 IP cameras (Hikvision generic cameras).

Here is the NVR I purchased (from ebay)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/NVR-8-channel-8-PoE-ports-H-264-5MP-Full-HD-1080p-HDMI-8TB-Capacity-/141787610653?hash=item2103333e1d:g:qP4AAOSwwbdWKDGN

The cameras are listed as model: XC-2CD2032F-I

Here is a link to them:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/2CD2032F-I-3MP-HD-PoE-IR-IP66-Bullet-Network-IP-Mini-Camera-/141772354999?hash=item21024a75b7:g:jwEAAOSwQTVV9wdB

I have activated the cameras with the Hikvision IVMS software, but when I connect them to the NVR, it does not see them and I do not see anything on the display. I know I am missing a step.

Any suggestions or tips for a total newbie?

TIA

As an eBay Associate IPCamTalk earns from qualifying purchases.

CoreyX64

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
You kind of jumped the gun with activating them. What you should have done is left them unactivated and connected them to the NVR. When you activate the NVR, it then in turn activates all supported Hikvision cameras that are connected and set to "Plug N Play". Activation in this instance will apply your NVR's admin password (whatever you make it) to all of the Hikvision cameras, so should you ever need to connect to the cameras directly, that is what it would be to login.

Now that the cameras are already activated, you will likely need to take the cameras off of Plug N Play in the NVR's camera connection settings and set them to manual. Once set to Manual, you can enter the IP and login info for each camera, and you should get a picture. I recommend keeping them to their default 192.168.254.x network, unless you plan on placing the cameras on the LAN and not the PoE switch on the back of the recorder. (I doubt that).