hi from Iowa

tom cole

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi,
My name is Tom Cole. I live in Iowa – south of Des Moines. I'm a retired mechanical engineering tech and high school shop teacher. I'm interested in starting a for-profit company (going to call it NashCott) here in the upper Midwest – with two missions - software application development and development of specialized woodworking equipment. The software will be based on four relational databases that I have semi-developed over the last three decades - based on working and problem solving in four different environments (classroom teaching, public sector engineering, agribusiness and small-scale manufacturing). The woodworking equipment [working title is My Woodshop in a Can (MWIC)] - is intended for folks that may not thrive in a conventional woodshop (or machine shop) - the very young, mentally and physically challenged - and some seniors. [I was born without my right hand and have been building stuff (cradle-to-grave) forever - that is part of the inspiration for MWIC. But setting that aside, as an educator, I'm really interested in looking at cradle-to-grave building (sawdust on the floor) as an integrated classroom activity in core curricula classrooms - math, science, literature, social studies. To be an integrated activity in a conventional classroom, MWIC will need to be safe, quiet, clean, have a small footprint - and probably occupy kids in groups. Working on it. You're welcome to visit my website:

http://theburlproject.homestead.com