Hikvision and FreeNAS - works

jimmyt

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I was able to get Hikvision working with FreeNAS - well for the last 24 hours at least :)

It took a while and the fact that I am still a FreeNAS / Linux newbie didnt help. I will post more detailed instructions as time permits -

but in a nutshell, you need to create a dataset under your volume with a quota. In my case, I created a volume called "Volume1" and then created a dataset under it called "Camera1" with a quota of 100gb and allowed all to read / write it. I then shared that dataset "/mnt/Volume1/Camera1" as an NFS share with the specific camera ip as the only authorized IP address. So far it has worked like a champ!

Playback is not an issue either since I play it back through the camera web interface or the hikvision mobile app. The second camera will follow the first with a new dataset of "Camera2" I plan on experimenting to find the sweet spot of how big a drive can be.

jimmyt

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
as far as I can tell - yes. I tried it with just the volume and it would not work (however, freenas newbie here) :)

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
I think the way the Hikvisions try to auto-manage free space on the NAS requires each cam to have its own volume/dataset.

jimmyt

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
just an update.. freenas has been fine. reverted back to windows smb while I take freenas down and try Lime Tech "unRAID"

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
so freenas has been fine but your going to try a closed commercial product with paid support?