Hikvision DS-7608NI-E2 Live View Issues

Carcus

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have recently been having issues with the DS-7608NI-E2 NVR with live view and skipping during playback on Internet Explorer and via the iPhone App. The main feed only sub feed is fine.

I install CCTV systems for a living and have just moved from the 3MP systems with the 7108 to the 4MP systems running a 7608.

We can install an entire system with absolutely no issues at one house and then the next house 1 or 2 cams might not live view.

The issue only seems to happen during the day and it only seems to be with the 7608 the 7604 never has this issue.

I am using international OEM hardware.

I have tried the following.

Upgrading the firmware to the latest and downgrading it to V3.4.62_160503
Replacing the cabling. (if i plug the camera into the recorder with a short patch lead it works fine)
Replacing the camera
Replacing the NVR with another 7608
Tried a PoE switch instead of built in PoE ports.

If I replace the NVR with a 7616 or a 7608NI-I2 it all works fine.

I am thinking that at this stage it has to be an issue with the 7608 however the specs say it can handle up to 6MP??

Any advice would be welcome. Thanks.

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
if i plug the camera into the recorder with a short patch lead it works fine
If what you're saying is that this fixes the problem - then you have the cause and the solution.
Are you terminating the cables yourself? Maybe you are not using the correct wire order to preserve the twisted pairs.
How are you powering the camera? Presumably not with passive PoE splitters, which would be very dependent on the length and resistance of the cable.

The 7616NI-Ex and 7608NI-I2 both have faster DSP/CPU than the 7608NI-Ex.

Carcus

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
You would think so. I am using A standard.

If I swap the recorder to a 7616 or 7608NI-I2 it works with the existing cabling.