Hikvision NVR Playback Issue

zimurgy

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello,

I am hoping for some help from some experts. I am new to IP cams and security for my home and I am noticing some issues. I have 3 cameras, 1 DS-2CD2332-I and 2 DS-2CD2532F-IS. When I view the live view or even the recorded video playback I am seeing periods of 5-10 seconds of lost time about every minute or so, some times are worse than others. It was most noticeable when I tried to playback a video of someone walking my property line behind my home. I saw him for a second and then it froze until it restored and I only saw his back. Talk about bad timing and frustration. I am powering the 3 cameras from the NVR. My runs of cat6 are around 100' at most.

My camera settings are all the same.
2048x1536
Constant Bitrate
Frame Rate: 15fps
Max bitrate: 8192

Most image quality settings are default.

NVR Model: DS-7604NI-E1/4P
NVR Firmware: V3.3.4 build 150811

I am not sure where to look next, would a separate PoE switch take some of the burden off of the NVR? I appreciate any help I can get.

bababouy

Known around here
Reaction score
Are you recording from motion? If so, you will need fine tune your motion settings, region, etc. If you are using HikVision cameras and a HikVision NVR, you should be able to configure your camera motion settings through the NVR. If not, You will have to configure the motion settings through each camera. I like to set cameras to a varible bit rate with the max setting arund 6122. In live view, are you watching from a monitor that is hooked directy to the NVR or are you on a PC that is on the local network?

zimurgy

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi Bababouy,

I am currently set to record continuous. I am not sure if that taxes the unit more. I wanted to record all at first to see what I get. Do you think a variable rate would help my situation? If I change the rate, would a reboot of the camera be recommended?

Thanks.

bababouy

Known around here
Reaction score