Home Assistant issue - "Invalid Server Details"

thompssc

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi all, BI noob here. I successfully got it installed and running, and have setup the web server and am able to view the cameras on my phone. However, I am trying to set it up to tie into my Home Assistant setup. I have added BI in HACS and am now trying to add the integration via Configuration. I put in the server address and port 81, username, and password (that I created specifically for HA). It repeatedly gives me "invalid server details". I have restarted HA (obvious first trouble shooting step...turn it off and then back on). No dice. I believe it's not actually a BI issue but a network issue, but I am hardly a networking expert. The reason I suspect this is, on the BI PC, if I go to a browser and enter the internal server address, I am able to log on and view the cameras. That plus the fact that I got my cell phone to be able to view the cameras tells me that the web server is setup correctly on BI. What's weird is that if I use a different laptop and punch in the same exact internal server IP address, I get nothing. So I reason HA is also failing to find the server. Does anyone experienced in networking have a theory as to what is mucking things up? I did confirm that Blue Iris is allowed through the firewall. So why can't I access the internal server from a different computer? If I can solve that, I think HA will be golden.

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Can you ping the BI server's IP from that laptop?
If so, what is the exact URL you're putting into that laptop's browser to access the BI server on the LAN?
No need to redact your LAN IP, we all have them...mine is 192.168.1.239.

thompssc

n3wb
Reaction score
Can you ping the BI server's IP from that laptop?
If so, what is the exact URL you're putting into that laptop's browser to access the BI server on the LAN?
No need to redact your LAN IP, we all have them...mine is 192.168.1.239.