How can I improve the night image or have I reached the limits of the IPC-T5442T-ZE?

mikey299

n3wb
Reaction score
I have 5442 varifocal set to 2.8mm which was meant as an overview camera and to identify people at distances under 10 feet (as you will see in the pictures perps can come from 4 different directions so I wanted to have that "intersection" covered). It's my first dahua / empire tech. I only recently (when I started playing with different settings) figured out how much light this camera really needs. It was shocking. Anyway in the attachments there are a few pictures: first one is a screenshot of how it looks at night (it's almost pitch black), second one is how it looks with motion detection floodlights on (together more than 5000 lumens) - btw I'm not standing still, I'm walking at normal speed, I just freeze framed it so you guys can see how my face looks :lol:, third and fourth are the settings I have right now and fifth is the screenshot from yesterday when I slowed down the shutter / increase gain quite a bit (my face was too blurry so I changed it back to how I have it now). My question is how (if) can I still see the background (like in attachment 5) and still be able to identify someone at 10 feet? I've been playing with settings and annoying the neighbours for a while but can't make it better than that. For example if I increase the gain just a little bit (not more than 30), the face is still too blurry for my taste.
Have I reached the limits of this camera or can I still improve the picture somehow? I've been thinking about buying these IR lights ( ) but I'm skeptical if and how much they would help (I mean if 5000 lumens don't do the trick...). I was also thinking about replacing this camera with another one (I was looking at Color 4K-T 2.8mm but have read that they have focusing problems up close) and use this one to zoom in on my yard entrance instead. What do you suggest I do?

Attachments