How to hide power wire?

Discussion in 'Chit-Chat' started by Tazz 316, Jul 1, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. Tazz 316

    Tazz 316 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have one or two wifi cameras inside the house mounted up near the ceiling the power cord is just hanging there hooked to a extension cord since the one that comes the camera is not long enough.

    Do they make longer power cords or something to make it easy to hide?
     
  2. psycik

    psycik Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Most cameras run POE, power over ethernet as it means there's only a 5mm hole needed that delivers power and network. Much easier.

    Consumer based cameras use DC, on a wall plug. Unless you can create a dc plug to dc plus extension then they'll need 110/240v extension cables.
     
  3. Tazz 316

    Tazz 316 Young grasshopper

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    All my other cameras are POE it's just the two in the house that are wifi and used to keep watch of pets. I just hate the cord hanging there. Not much i can do without drilling holes i guess.

    Are the power jacks on the back of hikvision cameras the standard dc jack? I think it's 2.5mm.
     
  4. Aengus4h

    Aengus4h Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    UK
  5. gwminor48

    gwminor48 Getting comfortable

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    TX
    That's another problem with wifi cameras. One way or the other you're going to have a cable going to a camera. With wifi, it's a power cable. You could run power in the attic for the cameras but POE is a much safer, better option.
     
  6. GaryFunk

    GaryFunk Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2018
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    This is one of the two main reasons I only use wired cameras. If you have to run a wire,it may as well be ethernet.
     
    mark_whocares and gwminor48 like this.