How to reset device password after gaining unrestricted root access via ssh (using CVE-2021-36260 exploit) ?

nowork

n3wb
Reaction score
I am relatively new to HIKVISION IP Camera.

I have a HIKVISION network PT camera (DS-2CV2Q21FD-IW). I lost its "device" password long time ago.
With the help of CVE-2021-36260 exploit, I can gain an unrestricted root access (/bin/sh by ssh) via local network.
I can access /etc/passwd file and rewrite its content in order to change passwords of root, admin and P users if necessary.
However these changes will be reset to its firmeware configuration after the device reboots everytimes.

Anyone knows how to change a "device" password (via /bin/sh command line), and preserve the change to its firmware setting?

Thank in advance for your help.

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
I have no idea. I suggest you factory reset the camera after changing its password temporarily.

Or you could probably just use the web interface to change the passwords and that would force it to be persisted?

nowork

n3wb
Reaction score
Thank for your advice. I forgot to mention that I cannot access the web GUI to login via browser. I can only access to the ssh console. The manually generated content of /etc/passwd after booting seems not to be synced with the web server. (I am not sure if this is the exact reason to why I cannot login via web interface)

Do you or anyone else have any suggestions to fix this?

Thanks

alastairstevenson

Staff member
Reaction score
I have a HIKVISION network PT camera (DS-2CV2Q21FD-IW). I lost its "device" password long time ago.
I'm not familiar with that model of camera, but the product specs suggest that it has a reset button, though it does not say where.
If you can find the reset button, press it, power on the camera and keep the button pressed for 30-40 seconds.
After that the camera should be in an 'Inactive' state.
An easy way to Activate the camera is to supply a new, strong, password using SADP.

CQR-View

n3wb