How to setup a Dahua IP camera without NVR

Stavros99

n3wb
Reaction score
This instruction list is hard earned, I am a novice user and loose 5 f* hours every time I try install a Dahua camera. Chinese cameras are good but the support and instructions online are totally S** including in the Dahua wiki which leaves so much out, beyond frustrating, many times I wish I had not taken this path and I bet Hikvision is no different. At the time of writing this this instruction list covers each step, if you find something missing please reply.

I use the following models: (used to use wireless but all are wired now)
dh-ipc-HDBW1320EP-W
SD22204T-GN-W (zoom)
N41BL12-W
HDBW2831EP-S-S2

Dahua IP Camera Setup
(No NVR, I use Imou phone app and SD cards in cams to record with cameras wired to my network)

1. Download the Dahua config tool
  2. Connect camera to pc via Ethernet cable and initialise (sometimes different browsers work like chrome or edge but if they don’t try pale moon)
  3. Once you initialise in configtool and set password, ensure you change the password in “search setting” of config tool top right also. (Some cameras auto initialise when you try logging in through browser, some you need to in configtool)
  4. Change ip to same as your network log it is not (e.g. ursuslly comes as a xxx.xxx.1.xxx when local network is xxx.xxx.5.xxx) using “edit” in the configuration tool (see notes on changing below if this process does not work)
  5. Disconnect from pc and connect back to network
  6. To connect the camera to the Imou life iPhone app Enable P2P in the browser, in network. (Each model can be different, may be under network>access platform>p2p) (in older 1320E models it’s under tcp/ip>easy4ip)

(If you can not connect to the camera sometimes the computer ip may need to be changed to what the camera ip comes with, to be able to connect to the camera to change its ip to what matches your network.