How To: Txt / Email alerts when Blue Iris Web Server is down

Mike

Staff member
Reaction score
Several months ago I was looking into simple (external) website monitoring solutions to monitor my Blue Iris web server and came across a method that uses Google Docs. I've been using it for 3 months now and it's been really reliable. Occasionally I will get a false alert, but once the alert is received, I open the BI app and see if it can connect. If it connects I know it's a false alarm, if not, then it's time to either remotely reboot the computer or figure something else out.

Here is how to do it:

Here’s how you quickly configure Google Docs to monitor the uptime /downtime of your website(s). This has to be done just once and Google Docs will continuously monitor all your sites in the background. Let’s get started:

1. Sign-in to your Google account and then click here to copy this Google sheet into your Google Drive. You may use your Google Apps account as well.
  2. Put your website URLs in cell B2 (comma separated) and your email address in cell B3. If you wish to receive alerts by text messages, put Yes in cell B4 (unless you are using your cell providers e-mail address - ex: phonenumber@messaging.sprintpcs.com).
  3. You’ll find a new Website Monitor menu in your Google Sheets toolbar. Click Initialize and you’ll get a pop-up asking for authorization. Grant the necessary access.
  4. Go to the Website Monitor menu again and choose “Start Website Monitor” to begin the monitoring process. Close the Google Sheet.

website-monitor-sms.png
That's it! You will be notified when the script cannot access the web address.