I run my microwave oven, the camera ip switches to the ap address

Clutch

Getting comfortable
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
21
Reaction score
19
Location
Northern Michigan
This is weird. I'm running 5.6.5.0 x64. I'm used to running my microwave and having two cameras on 2.4g wifi winking out until the microwave stops. I'll get them hardwired next year when I retire.

One camera didn't come back. I could get to it from the pc running BI using firefox. Eventually I noticed that BI had switched that camera's address to the tp-link device's administrative ip I'm using for wireless connectivity. I put the correct address back in Blue Iris and it connected. A little while later I ran the microwave again, it switched ip again.

AP is a TP-LINK TL-WR802N v4 that I haven't changed in over a year.

I've been running this set up for a couple years.
 

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
14,121
Reaction score
19,374
Location
Evansville, In. USA
Read the BI help file, What's New, it will explain why that's happening.
If you are running BI with Auto Update turned on, it's advisable to NOT do that unless you like being a beta tester.
 

Clutch

Getting comfortable
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
21
Reaction score
19
Location
Northern Michigan
Well that is interesting. I read about recording mac addresses to deal with DHCP changing a camera's IP in the whats new, is that what you wanted me to read?
AngryIP finds the AP at 192.168.1.20 with the exact same mac as the camera at 192.168.1.106 . I guess this can happen as I've bound multiple ip addresses to a nic in windows which would have share a single mac.

C:\Users\Clutch>arp -a

Interface: 192.168.1.126 --- 0x10
Internet Address Physical Address Type
192.168.1.20 da-0d-17-04-20-cf dynamic
192.168.1.106 da-0d-17-04-20-cf dynamic

Looks like BI doesn't look to see if there are two macs that are the same.

Normally I don't up date often but I decided to update after a reboot the other day. Oh well.


Thank you looney2ns
 

Mike A.

Known around here
Joined
May 6, 2017
Messages
2,665
Reaction score
3,874
Yeah, it's messed with some of mine too with a couple of the recent updates.
 

WooHoo4me

n3wb
Joined
Nov 21, 2022
Messages
4
Reaction score
9
Location
wichita, ks
Hmm, my first post as a noob...
Clutch, it occurs to me that your microwave oven may be leaking a little bit of 'RF' radiation. Check/clean the surfaces around the door..?
I'm a retired RF savvy black arts tech. I've seen a lot of weird stuff in the radio world and I'm skeptical of wifi for this reason.

About 2450MHz is the frequency most uwave ovens operate at, and at freaky high power (800 to 1500 watts!) and can produce harmonic 'splatter' radiated emissions.
Sorry, dont mean to scare.
Wireless WiFi runs at around 2420MHz, but if the oven is in close proximity/line of sight between router and camera and leaks a little when running, it could be disrupting your wifi, which operates at very low power and can be overwhelmed (jammed) by nearby energy sources of similar frequency.

It's also possible it is the oven dumping conducted emission noise on the power line -in the same branch circuit as the router or pc or camera power packs are connected to. Powerstrip line filters 'may' or may not work.
Best (and more secure) to just go with wired ethernet, as you mentioned.
 

WooHoo4me

n3wb
Joined
Nov 21, 2022
Messages
4
Reaction score
9
Location
wichita, ks
any recommended Powerstrip line filters @WooHoo4me ?
I have a Fender bass amp with line noise.....like to quiet that down if possible..
Flintman, Just a guess...but it probably needs new filter capacitors -those big round metal cans standing on end you see inside.

The kind of conducted 'noise' I refer to is inaudible to the human ear.

What you are hearing is likely to be power line frequency (60 or 120Hz) hum. Easy for humans to hear and quite annoying.
Filter caps of this type are 'wet' (electrolytic) internals and used in the amp's AC to DC power supply to remove [filter] power line frequency and are notorious to fail (dry out or cook) due to age and accumulated power-on hours. [lifetime rated in 1000's of hours depending on brand/model]
If your amp is 'old' it is probably in need of new caps. A dead giveaway is a blown fuse.

Oddly, the task is one of the easiest to perform -if you are graceful, can read a schematic (or surf the web for procedures) and can solder.
As a rule of thumb during restoration, a tech will replace every single electrolytic capacitor in a given model amp. Dont ask how I know.
That can be an arduous task, but it is usually the first two or three largest caps in the power supply chain that greatest affect on hum suppression.

Sorry for the length. I should also add; Warning! Hazardous Voltages present!!
k
 
Last edited:

Clutch

Getting comfortable
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
21
Reaction score
19
Location
Northern Michigan
Hmm, my first post as a noob...
Clutch, it occurs to me that your microwave oven may be leaking a little bit of 'RF' radiation. Check/clean the surfaces around the door..?
I'm a retired RF savvy black arts tech. I've seen a lot of weird stuff in the radio world and I'm skeptical of wifi for this reason.

About 2450MHz is the frequency most uwave ovens operate at, and at freaky high power (800 to 1500 watts!) and can produce harmonic 'splatter' radiated emissions.
Sorry, dont mean to scare.
Wireless WiFi runs at around 2420MHz, but if the oven is in close proximity/line of sight between router and camera and leaks a little when running, it could be disrupting your wifi, which operates at very low power and can be overwhelmed (jammed) by nearby energy sources of similar frequency.

It's also possible it is the oven dumping conducted emission noise on the power line -in the same branch circuit as the router or pc or camera power packs are connected to. Powerstrip line filters 'may' or may not work.
Best (and more secure) to just go with wired ethernet, as you mentioned.
Looney2ns suggestion solved my problem but you are correct about leaking. My 2015 Panasonic microwave died this morning and the Toshiba unit I purchased doesn't seem to affect my wifi.
 
Top