Ideal camera for a small choke point

GaretJax

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to this game and doing my best to catch up quickly. I am using a Blue Iris setup and playing around with a Dahua IPC-HDW5231R-Z that I got from Andy a week or so ago.

My front door has a natural choke point that is 15 feet long and 5 or so feet wide. I have had some difficulty framing the camera so it fits just right, but I figure I will get it soon enough.

It seems to me that the IPC-HDW5231R-Z is over kill for this area because of its limited size. Is there a cheaper Dahua camera that for this limited size will perform as well?

Thanks.

GaretJax

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
What I am finding is that when the camera is mounted as high as possible (about 10 feet off the ground), then I am having issues getting the picture framed to capture the person approaching the door. Either I can get him far away or I can get him close to the door, but not both. The further away he is, the harder it is to recognize the face. In addition the more severe the angle (to capture him closer to the door), the less I am likely to capture their face since I am getting the top of their head.

The lower I mount the camera, the better it is for capturing their face and their entire approach, but the camera is more obvious and more easily damaged or obstructed.

I am sure these issues are not new for you guys, but they are for me. Any thoughts or previous threads I can peruse? Thanks.

bug99

Pulling my weight
Reaction score