Idle motion on a PTZ

JeffCS

n3wb
Joined
Nov 9, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Location
UK
I've got a bit of problem on a PTZ where idle motion doesn't work after IVS has been tripped on a preset that's been triggered from a spotter camera. Is this a known issue? Does anyone have a work around (Timed Task?). Thanks.
 

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
16,330
Reaction score
30,377
Location
USA
Which VMS are you using - NVR or BI or another program/system?
 

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Joined
Apr 28, 2019
Messages
16,330
Reaction score
30,377
Location
USA
Calling @bigredfish as he is our expert Dahua NVR expert that does the spotter camera thing with the NVR.
 

CanCuba

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
183
Reaction score
325
Location
Havana, Cuba
I've got a bit of problem on a PTZ where idle motion doesn't work after IVS has been tripped on a preset that's been triggered from a spotter camera. Is this a known issue? Does anyone have a work around (Timed Task?). Thanks.
I had the same issue with a SD1A404XB that I just got. Wasn't going back to preset designated in idle motion.

The workaround that's working for me is to use Time Task. I set it to go to required preset 24/7 after X (I set it at 45) seconds of inactivity. It's working and still going to presets when triggered by other cameras using the Dahua NVR.

This seems like a bug to me but the Time Task workaround takes care of it.
 

JeffCS

n3wb
Joined
Nov 9, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Location
UK
I had the same issue with a SD1A404XB that I just got. Wasn't going back to preset designated in idle motion.

The workaround that's working for me is to use Time Task. I set it to go to required preset 24/7 after X (I set it at 45) seconds of inactivity. It's working and still going to presets when triggered by other cameras using the Dahua NVR.

This seems like a bug to me but the Time Task workaround takes care of it.
I've just tried the Time Task work around and that works. What happens if the Time Task kicks in when it's autotracking on an IVS rule on another preset? Does the Time Task override that?

I agree it's a bug. When it's triggered by a spotter, I'd expect it then to run the IVS rule(s) on the preset and then when nothing is triggering those IVS rules (i.e. it's idle) it goes back to the idle position. I really want to be use the IVS rules different presets as autotracking is key.

I found this article online which is interesting: PTZ idle motion doesn't work after configuration-Dahua Technology (dahuasecurity.com)

That suggests a bug to me :wow:
 

CanCuba

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
183
Reaction score
325
Location
Havana, Cuba
I've just tried the Time Task work around and that works. What happens if the Time Task kicks in when it's autotracking on an IVS rule on another preset? Does the Time Task override that?

I agree it's a bug. When it's triggered by a spotter, I'd expect it then to run the IVS rule(s) on the preset and then when nothing is triggering those IVS rules (i.e. it's idle) it goes back to the idle position. I really want to be use the IVS rules different presets as autotracking is key.

I found this article online which is interesting: PTZ idle motion doesn't work after configuration-Dahua Technology (dahuasecurity.com)

That suggests a bug to me :wow:
My camera doesn't have autotracking so I can't say. Mine will stay on the triggered preset until Time Task kicks in or it is triggered again.

I'm using the firmware the camera came with. I'm going to contact @EMPIRETECANDY to see if there's an update as I bought the camera off of him.
 

CanCuba

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
183
Reaction score
325
Location
Havana, Cuba
I've just tried the Time Task work around and that works. What happens if the Time Task kicks in when it's autotracking on an IVS rule on another preset? Does the Time Task override that?

I agree it's a bug. When it's triggered by a spotter, I'd expect it then to run the IVS rule(s) on the preset and then when nothing is triggering those IVS rules (i.e. it's idle) it goes back to the idle position. I really want to be use the IVS rules different presets as autotracking is key.

I found this article online which is interesting: PTZ idle motion doesn't work after configuration-Dahua Technology (dahuasecurity.com)

That suggests a bug to me :wow:
I just checked out the link. Seems kind of ridiculous that a smart feature needs to be turned off to be able to use Idle Motion.

I'm running face detection on Global and all presets as that's why I bought the camera.

But Time Task works so we're good for now.
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2022
Messages
6
Reaction score
5
Location
Poland
I had the same issue with a SD1A404XB that I just got. Wasn't going back to preset designated in idle motion.

The workaround that's working for me is to use Time Task. I set it to go to required preset 24/7 after X (I set it at 45) seconds of inactivity. It's working and still going to presets when triggered by other cameras using the Dahua NVR.

This seems like a bug to me but the Time Task workaround takes care of it.
Thank you for that workaround. I was going to post the same thread about this issue. Got it working in time task thanks to you.
 

CanCuba

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
183
Reaction score
325
Location
Havana, Cuba
Thank you for that workaround. I was going to post the same thread about this issue. Got it working in time task thanks to you.
Glad I was able to assist. The Dahua link that @JeffCS posted infers that's it's not supposed to work with Idle Motion if you have a smart plan in place. Which doesn't make sense to me but whatever.
 

JeffCS

n3wb
Joined
Nov 9, 2022
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Location
UK
Glad I was able to assist. The Dahua link that @JeffCS posted infers that's it's not supposed to work with Idle Motion if you have a smart plan in place. Which doesn't make sense to me but whatever.
I agree with you @CanCuba - it doesn't make sense. I've had more feedback that it is working as expected. Smart Plan overrides idle motion. My only concern with the Time Task is when it kicks in (i.e. if the smart plan is mid-way through autotracking a target on the preset it's gone to, does the Time Task just override that and spin it back).
 

CanCuba

Getting comfortable
Joined
Dec 9, 2020
Messages
183
Reaction score
325
Location
Havana, Cuba
I agree with you @CanCuba - it doesn't make sense. I've had more feedback that it is working as expected. Smart Plan overrides idle motion. My only concern with the Time Task is when it kicks in (i.e. if the smart plan is mid-way through autotracking a target on the preset it's gone to, does the Time Task just override that and spin it back).
I guess it will take some testing. My next PTZ (eagerly awaiting the new Dahua mini-PTZ)) will have AT.

I have a lot of foot traffic in front of my place and an active group of thieves operating at night. I'm using face detection and my spotter cams to connect the dots as to who's who. These kids don't realize that I can see the entire street and to the opposite sidewalk. Hoping they get a rude awakening soon!
 
Top