I'm not clear on the BI4 to BI5 upgrade.

jmburton2001

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
I've been running BI4 for over 5 years (and BI3 prior to that). The first few years with BI4 were tweaking and tuning, but for the past few years it's been humming along PERFECTLY and auto-MAGIC-ally. I purchased the BI5 full version back in June 2019 and have been sitting on it ever since. The system I want to upgrade is physically located around 2,000 miles from me and I've been in the "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." mindset but have been feeling like I should upgrade. I have full remote access to this system and have someone onsite that can push a button if needed, but not anything technical.

In that regard I have a few questions (I've been reading all the posts I can find on this)...

1. Is the valid license period from the date I purchased it or from the date I activate it?
2. Is there a way to backup my current BI4 configuration and then restore it in BI5?

---------- BI4 says "Not version 5 eligible" and when I press the "Upgrade/Renew" button it requests a support plan code.
3. Is this where I would put my full version BI5 key?
4. Or do I have to install the BI5 full version?

I guess what I really want to know is... What's the most painless way to upgrade without having to rebuild the system configuration?

Thanks in advance for your insights and wisdom! :)

bp2008

Staff member
Reaction score
1) From the date you activate.
2) Yes. Blue Iris makes registry backups automatically, or you can use a third party tool like bp2008/biupdatehelper or you can manually export HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Perspective Software from the registry.
3/4) It depends...

If you got a full-version BI5 key, then you should simply install Blue Iris 5 (full version) and put that key in when it asks.