Installing larger than recommended HDD in computers?

Joined
Oct 31, 2022
Messages
137
Reaction score
51
Location
Lower Alabama
Does anyone know if there are issues installing a larger HDD in this Dell computer? It states 4TB, but I suspect some of you have purchased older Dell computers and installed larger hard drives than what the manual shows.

1720449169209.png
 

Teken

Known around here
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
1,807
Reaction score
3,213
Location
Canada
Does anyone know if there are issues installing a larger HDD in this Dell computer? It states 4TB, but I suspect some of you have purchased older Dell computers and installed larger hard drives than what the manual shows.

View attachment 198017
Completely depends on what BIOS firmware is on the MOBO. Along with the SATA controller.

Older models the maximum capacity is the limit. Whereas in other units it’s what ever you can afford to install.
 

duplo

Getting comfortable
Joined
May 26, 2022
Messages
386
Reaction score
452
Location
Berlin, Deutschland
You can simply add 16/18/.. TB.
It even works on Dahua NVR.

These are just options which you could choose in initial purchase.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2022
Messages
137
Reaction score
51
Location
Lower Alabama
So this unit should have no issues with a WD 22TB Purple Pro drive?

I'm curious if it has ample power, but I suppose if it has 2 extra 3.5" HDD slots with power connectors for them, the size of the disk shouldn't matter.
 

Teken

Known around here
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
1,807
Reaction score
3,213
Location
Canada
So this unit should have no issues with a WD 22TB Purple Pro drive?

I'm curious if it has ample power, but I suppose if it has 2 extra 3.5" HDD slots with power connectors for them, the size of the disk shouldn't matter.
As stated, it depends what BIOS is on the MOBO and the SATA controller. If the computer is / was made after 2020 there should be no problems using a larger drive.

If the computer is before 2015 almost anything goes!

As it relates to powering the HDD. The power is standardized because it’s SATA.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2022
Messages
137
Reaction score
51
Location
Lower Alabama
Is there a way to test or check the BIOS?

I could also get an inexpensive 2-bay NAS and have room to grow. Store the New folder for clips on the PC and keep the Stored folder on the NAS.
 

abita_brewing

Getting the hang of it
Joined
Mar 30, 2023
Messages
64
Reaction score
49
Location
southern US
Is there a way to test or check the BIOS?

I could also get an inexpensive 2-bay NAS and have room to grow. Store the New folder for clips on the PC and keep the Stored folder on the NAS.
At some point, hdd partitioning changes from bios to GPT. So as long at your o/s is win10 or above, you are fine with the larger GPT type.
 

bp2008

Staff member
Joined
Mar 10, 2014
Messages
12,698
Reaction score
14,169
Location
USA
That storage table lists M.2 NVMe, meaning it is new enough it won't have any trouble with higher capacity hard drives than were listed in that table. Systems older than that are/were frequently used as very large scale storage servers.
 

Teken

Known around here
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
1,807
Reaction score
3,213
Location
Canada
Is there a way to test or check the BIOS?

I could also get an inexpensive 2-bay NAS and have room to grow. Store the New folder for clips on the PC and keep the Stored folder on the NAS.
If the screen shot you provided is accurate the 4TB is the maximum. You can obviously install the HDD and validate if that limit is true!

Because, depending upon when the computer was made larger (consumer grade) drives were not available then.

Way back in the day when MBR was the industry standard the maximum capacity was 2TB which supported 4 primary partitions not including extended partitions.

Starting with Windows Vista (GPT) was introduced when UEFI was standardized in the MOBO world which allowed the much larger drives you see today.

Along with upgrading the standard to support more GUID partitions. Features such as Protected MBR, CRC. Boot Data is stored in multiple locations for better resilience against over write and corruption.

In the worst case scenario you can just buy a RAID Controller that supports larger drives. Software RAID back in the day was pure shit but as of 2024 it’s come a long way but still a risk.

This is why nobody even remotely serious relies on software RAID in Enterprise!

It’s all bare metal (hardware) . . .
 

Teken

Known around here
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
1,807
Reaction score
3,213
Location
Canada
Isn't the ZFS filesystem quite popular in enterprise?
The development of ZFS has been one of the major turning points as it relates to software RAID.

As it relates to Enterprise, I haven’t seen ZFS in any Apple, Microsoft, Google data centres I’ve been inside North America.

I’m sure someone in Enterprise may be using it in some capacity around the world. Software RAID allows lots of flexibility and future proofing as time goes on.

As when new features / improvements are made it helps advance the stability and reliability of the software.

Lots of new systems offer hybrid RAID using the combination of hardware & software.

I see more value and reliability in that vs a software only solution.
 

MTL4

Pulling my weight
Joined
Mar 8, 2019
Messages
149
Reaction score
104
Location
Canada
Does anyone know if there are issues installing a larger HDD in this Dell computer? It states 4TB, but I suspect some of you have purchased older Dell computers and installed larger hard drives than what the manual shows.

View attachment 198017
I suspect the Dell table refers to Bios maximums under legacy MBR formatting (Windows XP, VISTA , 7 non secure boot, etc). Usually MBR maximum is 2TB. Anything somewhat modern with GPT UEFI booting (Windows 8, 10, 11) should be more than able to handle all the hard drive you can afford to put in there for the forseeable future. I just added an 18TB WD Purple to my Lenovo ThinkCentre M720S SFF with an Intel i7-8700 formatted with GPT, running Windows 11 Pro. That machine originally came out in like 2017.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 31, 2022
Messages
137
Reaction score
51
Location
Lower Alabama
I'm going to install a 22TB WD Purple Pro and see what happens. Worst case, I'll get a NAS for it, but hopefully, I won't have to and it will work fine.
 

Flintstone61

Known around here
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
6,748
Reaction score
11,194
Location
Minnesota USA
1720677193642.png

You may need to reinstall the OS clean if your system was setup as a legacy BIOS machine. then switch to UEFI boot mode in the F2 settings, then install your OS.
there is also a way to convert an existing operating system from MBR(legacy), to GPT, and 2 posts below i have found a couple links you can check out.


the 7020 is an older machine running 3rd and 4th generation Intel....default install of Windows was BIOS ( on my 2 7020's ) ..and 32 BIT was still a thing.....


In order for an operating system to fully support storage devices that have capacities that exceed 2 terabytes (2 TB, or 2 trillion bytes), the device must be initialized by using the GUID Partition Table (GPT) partitioning scheme. This scheme supports addressing of the full range of storage capacity. If the user intends to start the computer from one of these large disks, the system's base firmware interface must use the Unified Extensible Firmware Interface (UEFI) and not BIOS.
 
Last edited:

Flintstone61

Known around here
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
6,748
Reaction score
11,194
Location
Minnesota USA
Thinking about this further, I seem to recall, my 7020 running BI 5.0 on a BIOS installed OS( Samsung 250 GB), mixed with GPT partitioned drives..2 WD's of 8TB and 5 TB...checking some more info........
I think i had to perform the MBR to GPT conversion in a few commands in command prompt
but as I recall.,. this method is not going to save your OS. I think i had to reinstall windows after....been awhile...
1720680114744.png
 
Last edited:

Flintstone61

Known around here
Joined
Feb 4, 2020
Messages
6,748
Reaction score
11,194
Location
Minnesota USA
Step 2: Convert the partition style from MBR to GPT using MBR2GPT.exe
MBR2GPT.exe is a Windows utility available in Windows 10 Creators Update x64 (Version 1703, Build 10.0.15063) or later. This utility allows converting a disk using MBR partition style to GPT partition style without modifying or deleting data on the disk. However, it is highly recommended to backup your data before continuing with this procedure.


 
Joined
Oct 31, 2022
Messages
137
Reaction score
51
Location
Lower Alabama
I think I'm okay with the boot options already set at UEFI per the BIOS.

I believe I'm also good on the partition style as well. Both my 1TB SSD that has the operating system and my current Samsung 990 Pro 4TB SSD storage drive are GPT.

I have an older external 2TB USB drive that we used for backing up music and photos (my wife had about 9,000 photos from all her phones) and it is MBR, but we are only using it for the music and photos.

1720680233310.png

1720680761604.png

1720680728217.png
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2022
Messages
137
Reaction score
51
Location
Lower Alabama
I installed it, but it's slow knocking (like a soft thump) and won't stop, even when not in use. I took it out of the Dell PC and installed it in my Synology NAS, and it knocks there, too. I've never heard a hard drive make constant noise like this one is making, but then again, I haven't had anything other than SSDs for years. Still, I don't remember any computer with a regular 3.5" HDD making noises like this.
 

tigerwillow1

Known around here
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
4,000
Reaction score
8,973
Location
USA, Oregon
I installed it, but it's slow knocking (like a soft thump) and won't stop, even when not in use.
There was another thread about this recently. I've had a 10 TB western digital drive in the NVR for about a year and it makes the same noise, even with no data cable connected. No failures (yet).
 
Top