IP Camera system for warehouse (indoor and outdoor areas)

afortiori

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi,
I am looking for information on suitable IP cameras for securing our warehouse in India, Chennai. Im not a camera professional, but have been enjoying reading about the tech for some time now.

The total area to be secured includes the warehouse (60m x 100m) and the open storage yard 125m x 90m in front of the warehouse, and the office.
We have roughly worked out about 24 cameras for a good enough coverage, but now looking for options of cameras and NVR to keep the cost down and still have a decent video quality. 3 cameras are dome for indoor use, and 21 outdoor/indoor bullet cameras are planned.
I have narrowed down on ACTi E32 bullet camera as a good value for money option, any help from the forum will be useful:
1. to validate whether this camera is good value for money for the purpose, or not
2. whether the acti NVR software can be used to manage these 24 cameras (I know its free till 16 cameras), whats the cost of the license and whether its a serious software which can be used for continous recording
3. whether a PC as NVR is better than a dedicated NVR?
4. whether the E32 is available also in a 2.8mm option for a wide angle of view?
5. If we want all 24 cameras to record at 3MP and 5 fps whether
6. what is the difference between 'regular' CAT6 cable and 'shielded' CAT6 cable.. is shielded the same as armored?
7. if we use a 3MP camera with a 2.8 lens, whats the usable distance at which we would be able to see enough detail to ID a person?

Planning to run all the cameras from a 24 port POE switch which then connects to an NVR or PC for recording.
Sorry about the load of questions! even if some of them can be answered it will help a lot.

Any advice is welcome. Thanks

Razer

Pulling my weight
Reaction score