Is there a way to create dynamic overlay text based on a text file or similar?

BrownChiLD

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
I'm a dev and I wanted to output text on the overlay display of the camera... to simplify as an example, i want the overlay text to show "FRONT DOOR SECURED" when it is locked, and FRONT DOOR UNSECURED when not.
I have the smart door lock and awareness all figured out, I just need a way to tell BI to display X Y Z on the overlay.

The several ways I can think of is if BI had an option to load text from a file, or a URL, on an interval or so. This way my software can simply change that text file or output the necessary text.

I don't know how BI is developed but it would be nice if it it currently fetches overlay text for each camera from a text file, then i can simply edit that, provided it's in plain text of course. But I dont know where BI stores that file.

Anyway just looking for ideas how I can implement this. Thank you

ThomasCamFan

Pulling my weight
Reaction score
Dahua, Amcrest, and some other IP branded cameras have an HTTP API that allows writing text overlays directly to the camera image.

Here is an example for Dahua / Amcrest cams (tested on a Amcrest IP5M-T1179EW):

Turn on the overlay feature for the camera at 192.168.1.240:
Code:
http://192.168.1.240/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=setConfig&VideoWidget[0].CustomTitle[1].EncodeBlend=true
Write the text on the camera image:
Code:
http://192.168.1.240/cgi-bin/configManager.cgi?action=setConfig&VideoWidget[0].CustomTitle[1].Text=DOOR%20IS%20LOCKED
You can find the CustomTitle commands in the Amcrest HTTP Protocol API Specifications document, which can be found with assistance from Google. The commands are also used by Dahua.

- Thomas

TonyR

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Yes, Blue Iris can have several overlays for each camera, each determined by text assigned to a macro. It matters not what brand or model of camera is being used.