Light storm passing

CanCuba

Known around here
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at a video from my weather cam. Excuse the AC tubing as the new AC was installed last week and I need to give the camera a slight spin to the left.

At around the 0:50 mark in the video, you can see the rain passing out over the ocean.

Sped up 40x
View attachment untitled2.mp4

CanCuba

Known around here
Reaction score
What is the use of the barrels on the roofs? catch rain water?
Water storage. Like a lot of places in the world, the supply from the water utility isn't 24/7. My area is scheduled for 8 to 12 hours of water supply daily. Other areas get 8 hours every other day.

So everybody has at least one tank on the roof where they store water for regular household use.

In my case, I have a 3500 litre cistern and 2200 liter tank on the roof. There's a float switch (I run 12v DC through mine, unlike most who use 110v AC!) in the tank. When the tank is only about 90% full, the switch closes which activates a relay and the submersible pump in the cistern fires up until the switch in the tank closes again. All automatic and I never have to think about it.

A lot of people have to manually turn on their pumps (many don't have cisterns) when the water comes on or they won't get water into the roof tank.

Just another quirk of living in a non-1st world country. Having almost 6000 litres means I never really have to worry unless there's major aquaduct issues as we had a couple years ago. In that case, I turn off the water pressurizer (pressurizes the water coming out of my roof tank so supply 4 bathrooms and one kitchen which I wouldn't be able to do with just gravity) which saves me quite a bit of water when washing dishes, hands, showering, etc.

Oh, and the aquaduct issues a few years ago were in lines with a 72" diameter! I'll see if I can find the photos they published of the welders standing inside with room to spare.

IAmATeaf

Known around here
Reaction score