limited knowledge in POE looking for advice

Mcllisms

n3wb
Reaction score
I am very new to POE and security cameras , I have some general questions below... I have already setup Blue Iris with Reolink camera but I dont like the cameras .. so I am looking for :
Please I have a general question --

I am looking for POE camera for my house both inside and outside with these specifications :
1. audio recording
2. IR and night vision
3. some with two way audio
4. some ptz

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
Yeah reolinks perform poorly especially at night.

A lot more info is needed such as purpose (identify or observe, etc.), but see this thread for the most commonly recommended camera based on the the distance to IDENTIFY. These recommendations represent the best overall value in terms of price, performance day and night, and reliability.

Remember one camera cannot be the be all/see all. Each one is selected for a purpose.

Mcllisms

n3wb
Reaction score

A lot more info is needed such as purpose (identify or observe, etc.), but see this thread for the most commonly recommended camera based on the the distance to IDENTIFY. These recommendations represent the best overall value in terms of price, performance day and night, and reliability.

Remember one camera cannot be the be all/see all. Each one is selected for a purpose.

thats very true. I need all the above and clarity in audio recording

wittaj

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
You will find that two-way talk is kinda gimmicky. It is more like walkie-talkie talking.

Audio on these types of cameras are not great. If you want clarity in audio, you are better off to add an external mic to one of the many cameras recommended that have an audio in cable.

The cameras on that thread I posted are the recommendations most will give here.

Shpyda

n3wb
Reaction score