Long Range Video Surveillance

skydriver

n3wb
Reaction score
I have a driveway that is about 3000 feet long. I'd like to put an outdoor camera at the beginning of my drive and then be able to view it from the house, over wifi, and possibly via my iPhone when not at home. I have seen some systems that have radio line of sight signals where you attach a receiver to your roof top and the transmitter to a camera some distance away, but I have not heard from anyone how efficient these systems are. Any suggestions or comments on this topic would be appreciated. Obviously money is a factor but for the right system I'd spend for it. I just want something of quality without going bankrupt either. thanks

ramleaf

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Fiber would be ideal for that distance, but how are you going to power the camera? Do you have a outlet near or you will run a cable from your home?

skydriver

n3wb
Reaction score
I have strongly considered fiber but I have no knowledge of how to splice it, I would have to run it inside of a pvc pipe alongside my driveway to make sure it doesn't get cut down the road, and so that option would be pretty expensive. I was sort of looking for alternatives to see what the other options were. There is a power box in the vicinity of that location, Id just have to get the power company to come out and set up an outlet for me (with attached meter likely)

Fiber would be ideal for that distance, but how are you going to power the camera? Do you have a outlet near or you will run a cable from your home?

ramleaf

Getting the hang of it
Reaction score
Well, then you can setup a point-to-pont bridge using this: https://www.ubnt.com/airmax/nanostationm/
It's easier to setup and more cheaper than the fiber.
You must install it on a pole as high as possible because the trees will reduce the signal.

nayr

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score