Looking for 1st system for home advice

Bigmixer

n3wb
Reaction score
Hello, Long time lurker/reader, first time poster.

I have been researching cameras to death for about 6 months now. I am a little overwhelmed and I feel like I just need to ask opinions.

I have a home I want to monitor to start with 3 cameras:

#1 front door - I have a 20 foot porch with 11 foot ceiling with cat6 in place at the opposite end from the front door (I have a window on the front porch also).

#2 Driveway/Garage-man door. Again a CAT6 cable above the door about 11-12 feet up. This area also could cover the driveway which is approximately 75 feet total.

#3 Rear basement door under covered deck. This CAT6 is ran to corner above door about 8 feet high and could cover the entire rear of the house.

My questions are the typical things.

1. NVR or PC: NVR is easier, less maintenance, less expensive. PC I am sure has better options and I like not having to go to the cloud to view on mobile if I were to get alerts (as opposed to an NVR solution). Trouble is, I can't seem to find the deals on the PCs that I see everyone get. The cheapest i5-6500 OptiPlex that I can find is $489 and that is without a HDD.

This Amcrest NV4108E-HS NVR is $180 and would need an HDD. https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B0743WP62Q/_encoding=UTF8?coliid=I3V2UQK8WSBWIP&colid=FKQRA1OOLK7L&psc=1
How does this look?

2. Cameras. I see the advantage of the Dahua Starlight and varifocal. I know it is a better camera, but I can't sell that to the wife. $170 vs $100 vs $75 cameras make no difference to her as long as she can see the video. Is there anything I should be looking for in an Amcrest that could meet my needs? Like these:

https://smile.amazon.com/Amcrest-ProHD-Outdoor-Security-Camera/dp/B07772PXJ2/ref=sr_1_9?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1513802247&sr=1-9&keywords=amcrest+poe+camera