Looking for guidance - hopefully I've come to the right place ...

looney2ns

IPCT Contributor
Reaction score
yes, this one replace the IPC-HDBW4231F-AS, i will invite @looney2ns to make a review on this small edge one, it's the time to replace his old IPC-HDBW4231F-AS :)
If your place has good light, then use IPC-E3541F-AS-M 2.8mm or 3.6mm. 5mp
Glad to empiretech
yes, this one replace the IPC-HDBW4231F-AS, i will invite @looney2ns to make a review on this small edge one, it's the time to replace his old IPC-HDBW4231F-AS :)
If your place has good light, then use IPC-E3541F-AS-M 2.8mm or 3.6mm. 5mp
Glad to.

CCTVCam

Known around here
Reaction score
I have a lot of experience with designing, building, and fixing electronics and other things, but not cameras specifically.
Basically I just don't want a giant camera hanging down in your face as soon as you walk in the front or back door. I saw that Dahua have 'covert' cameras available under their 'Special Series' section and I thought "dang; that looks ideal".

The inside view of the front entrance I want:
Option A:
View attachment 73011
or Option B:
View attachment 73012
And the two options of where the camera would be positioned:
View attachment 73013
Not really 'hidden' as such, but not in-your-face. We're renovating the room behind the RH door, so I can easily build access to behind the door pillar now, and I can access the other position from in the attic.

Very nice plate captures @samplenhold. That's exactly what I'm after.
The best spot I can see for LPR for my place is here:
View attachment 73025
It would still work ok I think despite there being a camper parked a bit in the way.
I may also be able to get access to use the telephone pole in the right of the shot, but still waiting on permission for that.