LPR using Blue Iris vs. Synology DVA1622

Peeper

Young grasshopper
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am an individual operator looking to add LPR at two locations-- my city residence and also ranch property. For me, it seems there is a "fork in the road" between adopting Blue Iris to help with LPR, or stay with Synology and add another NAS.

I have a significant amount of experience with IP cameras and Synology NAS devices. Currently operate a number of Synology NAS devices, using Surveillance Station 9.x, and maybe 25 cameras total ranging from 2mp to 4k. Except for having a contractor pull cabling for me, I have done all of the setup, config, and maintenance of the cameras, network, and NAS devices. I am running about 80TB of storage in the two locations as storing recordings for 120 days needs a lot of space.

I used own a small car wash, and devoted time to capturing license plates due to that. So I am somewhat aware of the challenges involved. And I have read the "getting started" documents here. Based upon reading here, I would start with the camera model below as my LPR camera. I am looking at the model offered by Empire Tech:

IPC-HFW5241E-Z12E - Dahua International (dahuasecurity.com)

I am contemplating whether to also add a Synology NVR, model DVA 1622. The DVA 1622 is more devoted to AI than other Synology devices, including LPR functionality. It "seems" a good choice but I am unsure. If I purchased one, I would devote it solely to LPR tasks. Synology does offer a method to link their NAS products so even if devoted to LPR, the DVA 1622 could be accessible through my current system. The main complaint, it seems, about the Synology 1622 is the limit on how many AI functions you can run at once. I understand this frustration for others, and the next jump up to the bigger model is very expensive. This is not a problem for me as I would only expect it to run a single LPR function.

Synology_DVA1622_Data_Sheet_enu.pdf