Moved cameras from static to DHCP auto assigning IP

Crash Tim

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi everyone, newbie here to this site but long time user of Blue Iris software and ISO app.
What I am trying to figure out is if I change all my cameras from having static IP addresses to allowing my router to assign each camera an IP address. Will this become an issue when the lease runs out and the router assigns the camera a new IP address. Will I have to update The IP address in Blue Iris each time?
Thanks all!!
Tim

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, newbie here to this site but long time user of Blue Iris software and ISO app.
What I am trying to figure out is if I change all my cameras from having static IP addresses to allowing my router to assign each camera an IP address. Will this become an issue when the lease runs out and the router assigns the camera a new IP address. Will I have to update The IP address in Blue Iris each time?
Thanks all!!
Tim
It will become a problem unless you use the dHCP reservations but the bigger question is why do you want to do this

mikeynags

Known around here
Reaction score
That’s not how DHCP works. When the lease is at 50% is when you will see a renewal request so, your device will continue to maintain the same IP address. Reservations will help protect you against the scenario where the camera is off network for an extended period of time and a new device comes onto the network and assumes the camera’s last IP because it was returned to the pool. I agree with [mention]fenderman [/mention] on the use of reservations to avoid giving out the IP if for whatever reason your camera is offline for an extended period of time. That said, all my cams are set statically :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Crash Tim

n3wb
Reaction score