Multiple-location control/monitoring of BI PC

Discussion in 'NVR's, DVR's & Computers' started by Falcon, Jun 2, 2018.

Share This Page

  1. Falcon

    Falcon n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I will have an i7-6700 based PC to run BI with 10 2MP cameras. I'm looking at options to monitor and control the BI PC locally, and from four other locations in my home. Control from those other locations is the part of the solution I'm trying to solve.

    I found units from GEFEN that enable DVI KVM over IP. I plan to use a separate network switch to connect the TX and four RX's to avoid bandwidth issues.

    Two "remote" locations will have keyboards and mice while the other two will use touchscreens.

    Has anyone researched this option?

    I see similar cheap units on Ebay and Amazon but some are not IP-based (1 TX to 1 RX), some have USB ports that can only be used for keyboard/mouse (I want option to use memory sticks), and some are only VGA. These Gefen units are a bit pricey but the manual describes many options for control and configuration

    Opinions? Experiences?

    Falcon
     
  2. looney2ns

    looney2ns Known around here

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4,154
    Likes Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Evansville, Indiana
    I have tried the UI3 web server interface in BI?
     
  3. Falcon

    Falcon n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I view the BI cameras from UI3 as well. But I'd like the ability to access all BI menu options and make configuration/camera changes from multiple locations throughout my home.

    Falcon
     
    SouthernYankee likes this.
  4. TonyR

    TonyR Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Alabama
    Temviewer? It's free, not too slow with decent bandwidth (assuming your LAN has gateway to Internet). I've never tried LAN-only.
     
  5. crw030

    crw030 Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    63
    • Windows Remote Desktop (requires Win Pro on the BI machine which I can't tell if you have) for configuration changes etc with UI3 as your day-to-day interface?
    • TonyR meant TeAmviewer.
    • RealVNC Home Edition ?

    I know my iPad has a Remote Desktop client that works (although a little difficult trying to do everything on an iPad), and the Windows PCs shouldn't have a problem opening a Remote Desktop connection. If you just have plain old Pro windows I'm pretty sure you only get one active connection, so each connection disconnects the previous but I assume all the UI3 connections would continue to work as I have UI2/UI3 open all the time on multiple computers on the network.
     
  6. Falcon

    Falcon n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I appreciate all the responses.
    The BI PC will run either Win 7 Pro or Win 10 Pro.
    I'm trying to avoid having to have a PC (or Android box) at each location. Wouldn't Windows Remote Desktop or Teamviewer require that?

    Falcon
     
  7. TonyR

    TonyR Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Alabama
    Yes.

    But in post #3 you said "....I view the BI cameras from UI3 as well. But I'd like the ability to access all BI menu options and make configuration/camera changes from multiple locations throughout my home."

    I assumed, apparently incorrectly, that meant you were currently using a PC to view using UI3 but wanted to do more than that, such as use Teamviewer to actually open up BI on the remote server.

    Sorry but I have no suggestions for a reasonably-priced alternative, such as KVM over CAT-5, either an extender or IP-based, and with HDMI.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2018
    looney2ns likes this.
  8. Falcon

    Falcon n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I currently use an Android box and a flatscreen to reach the UI3 URL from a location on the other end of my house.

    I also said in post #1 "I'm looking at options to monitor and control the BI PC locally". Looks like Teamviewer would do that.

    I guess regardless of touchscreen monitor or keyboard/mouse/monitor at these "remote" locations, I'll have to have either a PC, Android box or the Gefen DVI KVM over IP receiver at each location. An Android box at each location may be the less expensive route for the same functionality.

    Falcon
     
    TonyR likes this.
  9. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6,897
    Likes Received:
    3,342
    Among the remote desktop options presented so far I think VNC has the best chance of working for multiple client connections at once. However it is likely to create a lot of overhead (CPU usage) on the BI server. All software solutions will do that really.

    Traditional KVM over IP is terribly expensive, usually using old technology (VGA connectors), low resolutions, and having a 1 or 2 concurrent session limit.

    There are a few modern solutions using HDMI that cost around $100 per link. You've got to be careful though, the IP-compatible models which let you use switches/hubs/routers etc are going to cause some video delay and possibly have a lot of compression which will make usage painful. This one could be decent: http://a.co/apAC7Gb I'm 90% certain it doesn't use TCP/IP so you couldn't use a switch, and would need one transmitter per receiver, wired directly to each other. You would use 4 pairs of this kit, a 4-way HDMI splitter at the BI server, and make a real nice rats nest of cables no doubt, but I think it would get the job done with the fewest compromises in quality. Of course for shorter links you could just use pure HDMI with active USB extenders and that would be cheaper and more reliable than one of those kits.
     
  10. Frankenscript

    Frankenscript Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    66
    I use remote desktop on a CHEAP CHEAP ($100, 2 years ago) windows tablet/laptop combo, to log into the BI PC and control things. It's nowhere near as fluid as when I remote in via my desktop PC, but it runs both UI3 and RDP connections just fine.

    Rather than spend lots of money and fussing with the KVM approach, you would probably be better served by getting some low end Windows PCs or chromebooks (in either notebook or tablet form factors). This way, they could be used for other tasks as well if you so desire at a later date.

    Today's low end things probably blow away what I have from two years ago. Here's something for $100 at Walmart:

    https://www.walmart.com/ip/2016-NuV...2GB-SSD-eMMC-Webcam-WIFI-Windows-10/855408099

    Or this one:

    https://www.walmart.com/ip/SmarTab-10-1-2in1-Windows-Tablet-W-Keyboard/227799290

    If you are willing to go to $150 or $200 your options increase.

    I was shocked how much utility I get from a 2 year old Windows 10 $99 tablet-with-detachable-keyboard-so-quasi-laptop. 32GB storage and 2 GB RAM seem pretty common in these.

    I suggest buying one, and trying it out, and it if doesn't do the trick, you haven't lost much.
     
  11. 00Buck

    00Buck Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Indiana
    Check out Stardock Multiplicity, I have used it to do what you are trying to do.
     
    TonyR likes this.
  12. TonyR

    TonyR Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Alabama
    That's a terrific idea; if it's anything like Stardock's 'Start8' and 'Start10' (I've installed probably 2 dozen of each) it's a great product and at a VERY reasonable price. And a 30 day trial here so it's hard to go wrong!
     
  13. Falcon

    Falcon n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    @TonyR
    Those Gefen units do come in HDMI and DVI options but, at ~$300 for each TX or RX, may add up to more than I need to spend. There are several $100 HDMI KVM over IP TX/RX pairs on Amazon that look interesting. I would need a single TX at the BI PC and then 5 RX/monitor combos throughout the house. I'll put this all on it's own network and switch to minimize impact on the other networks.

    @Frankenscript

    The plan is to use 24-35" monitors or flatscreen mounted on the walls at five locations throughout the house. Tablets or laptops are too small to view from a distance. I do agree that those would be good solutions for a device to tote around the house and keep an eye on the cameras. I will definitely keep that in mind.

    @00Buck @TonyR
    I see on the website where I can control multiple PC from a single PC. My concept is to control a single PC from multiple locations (without having to have a PC at each location.) How is that software used in that configuration?

    I appreciate all the great information.

    Two of my locations will use touchscreens. The "Android box at each location" solution seems to be the least expensive option but I haven't found an Android box that is compatible with a touchscreen monitor. Anyone know of any? A mini PC may be my only option at these locations.

    Falcon
     
    Frankenscript likes this.
  14. TonyR

    TonyR Known around here

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,518
    Likes Received:
    1,078
    Location:
    Alabama
    Understood and agreed, hence my comment in post #7 "...I have no suggestions for a reasonably-priced alternative, such as KVM over CAT-5, either an extender or IP-based, and with HDMI."

    None of those are inexpensive and also offer what you seek. Sorry, but I have no helpful suggestions. Good luck on your quest!
     
  15. bp2008

    bp2008 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6,897
    Likes Received:
    3,342
    I use multiplicity's KVM mode regularly. It is not without its glitches, and not free or particularly cheap, but it blows VNC out of the water.
     
    TonyR likes this.
  16. 00Buck

    00Buck Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Indiana
    I sent a question to Stardock to see if you can do multiple installs to control one computer. I will let you know if I find out anything.
     
  17. 00Buck

    00Buck Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Indiana
    Here is the reply from Stardock :
    To
    • :wave:

    Message body
    Yes, that is possible. Your set-up will determine what version of MP you will need. We have seen it deployed in testing facilities that have computers in engine test rooms and control the computers from a different location- they just need to all be on the same network. The KVM versions of MP give you more freedom of how they are setup.



    Thank you,
    Angela



    Ticket Details
    Ticket ID: DUA-587-53969
    Department: CorpSupport
    Type: Corp Sales - Purchased Support
    Status: On Hold
    Helpdesk: Stardock - Powered by Kayako Help Desk Software
     
    TonyR likes this.
  18. Falcon

    Falcon n3wb

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    @00Buck
    I really appreciate you pursuing that with Stardock. I've been poring over their website. Haven't seen any example yet of how 1 PC/multiple monitors would be employed.

    The downside for me is having to have a PC at each monitor. I do have a Minix Z83-4 Mini PC w/ Win10 to test with that can be mounted on the back of a monitor.

    The KVM over IP solution requires only the KVM RX at each monitor.

    Falcon
     
  19. 00Buck

    00Buck Getting the hang of it

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Indiana
    Yes you would need a small pc at each monitor. Something like a windows stick or Lenovo Tiny.
     
Tags: