Need any help I can get -- buying piece at a time?

drumdude67

n3wb
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am glad to find this forum...I went to another forum and got pointed slightly in the right direction but it kinda died out...

I'm looking for a relatively simple <=4 camera setup. Since my initial budget idea was $200, I was told to just get an NVR first and then buy cameras as funds are available. I'm looking for outdoor cameras for a residence.

Can you guys possibly recommend a route to go?

An under $200 NVR (which one?) or go the PC route with blueiris?

I can afford up to $300 to start, right off the bat. Then maybe $200 per month after that until I'm set. Probably stopping at 3-4 cams.

Anybody have an ideas? Many thanks for the help...and apologies to join and ask questions right away :)

-John

PS - I am a software developer and have fairly good tech sense...so some reasonable config work on my end is fine (networking, etc)

fenderman

Staff member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am glad to find this forum...I went to another forum and got pointed slightly in the right direction but it kinda died out...

I'm looking for a relatively simple <=4 camera setup. Since my initial budget idea was $200, I was told to just get an NVR first and then buy cameras as funds are available. I'm looking for outdoor cameras for a residence.

Can you guys possibly recommend a route to go?

An under $200 NVR (which one?) or go the PC route with blueiris?

I can afford up to $300 to start, right off the bat. Then maybe $200 per month after that until I'm set. Probably stopping at 3-4 cams.

Anybody have an ideas? Many thanks for the help...and apologies to join and ask questions right away :)

-John

PS - I am a software developer and have fairly good tech sense...so some reasonable config work on my end is fine (networking, etc)