Need Help/Suggestions to drive an USB IO device

mrtechman

n3wb
Reaction score
I have purchased and successfully tested the i/o device developed (suggested) by William Cruz to respond to triggers on a camera. See this link : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SMOrbXsTrWA

My hope is that someone can help me with a way to control the board via the BI iOS app remote control page. In sort, rather than relying on a trigger from the camera, I want to be able to manually trigger, and especially toggle, the relay on/off from this page on my phone. The intent is to be able to control some remote circuits at night while not having to trek into the cold weather. In this situation, neither PIR nor simple timers will suffice.

I have no coding experience, so I'm hoping for some very explicit instructions or an out of the box solution. All replies will be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

digger11

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
If you can talk the author of the Relay Control program to add just a little functionality to his program, I think you would be able to set things up to where you could use the PTZ controls for a camera to turn the 3 individual relays on and off.

To see what I'm talking about, look in the BI help and search for PTZ then read the section called "Camera Properties - PTZ"

According to the help file, you ought to be able to set the "External script" to call the "Relay Control" program. If I'm reading it right, once this is set, calling preset 1 for the camera from the IOS app should result in BI running Relay Control and passing it "PRESET,1". With access to the source code for Relay Control, I would think it would be pretty trivial to modify the program so that calling presets 1-3 would turn on the respective relay, and calling presets 4-6 would turn them off.