Need some advice on installing front door camera

Golfer

n3wb
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to all of this so bear with me. I currently have 6 of my 8 NVR ports in use and I'm considering adding a camera for the front door. What makes it a challenge is the brick, high ceilings, pillars, and recessed entrance style. I have a Nest doorbell camera so I'm debating if it is even worth the hassle.

Let me know if you think it is worth it, what type of camera (Dahua type), and where I should install it (and route the wire) I was debating the mini wedge as there is never direct sunlight in that space, but I'm primarily using turrets around the house.

Thanks!

20200411_193559.jpg
20200411_193618.jpg

The view from the Nest Hello doorbell
Screenshot_20200411-205009_Nest.jpg

windguy

Getting comfortable
Reaction score
@Golfer - you provided very nice pics. Your house looks very sharp. Good looking front door and sidelights.
I would agree with samplenhold, that conduit in your front entry area would not look good. Personal preference.
What type of view are you looking to achieve? package monitoring, door monitoring, someone approaching the door?
The two cams I see on the eaves above the garage door are pretty high up, at least 8ft, maybe 9ft, yes? Are you happy with the video from those locations?
Other than your Nest doorbell cam, you don't seem to have a lower positioned cam to get that money shot of someone's face.
Where is your NVR located? How are the two cams above the garage door wired to the NVR?
One thought is to run a data line from the garage through conduit underground along the front edge of the house and then position a camera on the edge of your porch.
You can dummy up the camera inside a birdhouse, planter box, etc to hide it.
See Post #2 on the thread below plus some other birdhouse hiding ideas.

Curious, what are those two tall vent pipes on the roof for? Maybe a direct-vent for a fireplace?
Also, is that a swamp cooler on the roof?

Last edited: